Newbie Here Tranny question

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

91 FL Hatchie

Alright guys great to be here on this awesome sight, alot of info. I just purchased a 1991 ED6 hatch, with a swap it does have the d15B1 engine and on the tranny it has L3 1505031. My question is that the L3 is a 5-speed right, well i only can shift into 4 gears. Can the previous owner not switch the shift linkage or something i am stumped, the axle is blown and so are the seals so i need to know what parts to get,please help thanks pix will follow

you may have to rebuild the trans...which gears can you get into? do the four gears you can get into include reverse? i can provide exploded diagrams for you but i dont know if you feel like attempting a trans re-build. chances are you have something bent in the trans. as to the axles, you can always take them with you and match them up at the auto parts. you'll need to for the core anyways. you can do this with the axle seals too

i shift into all four gears and reverse no problem i have been driving for about two weeks. so it has nothing to do with the shifter linkage. i rather buy another tranny (they are cheap here in central fl) and drop it in

yeah it sounds like thats the way to go. i dont know what your area shops ould charge for a rebuild but you would get the thing done right...hopefully. but hopefully you can get a trans with nothing wrong for cheaper too. i agree with you that its not your linkage but your trans. good luck

sounds to me like it has a 4-speed transmission - the 4-speed transmission is also L3 - is the car the STD model? - STD model came from the factory with D15B1 and 4-speed transmission