1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No spark, new dist.

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Justin66, Mar 27, 2009.

  1. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    I bought a new dizzy from TorontoJDM, so far im not getting any spark from it? Ive tried 2 brand new ones, anyone have an idea?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    bad ecu maybe
     
  3. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    are you getting power to the ignition coil?
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    check your timing belt too
     
  5. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Ive tried 2 ECU's, there is power to it. Timing belt i never thought of, ill check that.
     
  6. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Also i take it every sensor has to be wired right or it wont spark? Not even one out of place right? I only say this because we had trouble finding a car harness and had to wire the dizzy directly, until we find a harness. Unfortunately the new dizzy wire colours dont match, like usual. I applied the ECU-out dizzy plug to the from-dizzy plug, matched the wires from the a diagram.

    Also i lead back all the wires to the ECU, the wire colour matches what it is supposed to be and they are in the right ECU pin.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2009
  7. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Ok rotor does spin. I noticed i dont have a fat white wire for the ICM, instead i have a stand alone grey one?
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2009
  8. xxstrungfknoutxx

    xxstrungfknoutxx Not So Junior Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Location:
    29 palms
    hey double check your ground on your thermostat make sure ist not corroded or loose, sound minute but that is the ground to the main relay and ur ecu i didnt get spark or anything because it was loose, hope all works out
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2009
  9. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Ill check that tomorrow hopefully, anything else?
     
  10. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Thermostat ground is good.
     
  11. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    is it getting spark out of the end of the plug wires
     
  12. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Nope, no spark out of wires or with plugs attached, wires checkout ok, besides they are only a month or two old.
     
  13. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Ok turns out a sensor wire was in the wrong place, lots of spark. Now i have a new problem, fuel related. Dont you love how fixing one thing seems to either reveal or cause something else?

    Anyhoo, my fuel pump is flakey, it isnt turning on with the ignition, no sound or prime up. However we checked the relay and it is clicking, we wired the pump straight up to the battery and it works, primes. Suggesting its a broken wire between the pump and relay?

    But i have a gauge on my fuel line near the filter. It builds to normal pressure but drops way down once you start to crank. Enough so only to get a cough.

    I figure its a dying pump or clogged filter?

    If its the pump, are all honda pumps the same or is this integra or OBD0 specific?
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2009
  14. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Geez does no one like me or something? :(

    Fuel pump seems good, anything that could be causing the fuel system to not work right, could a dizzy wire still be off, throwing the ECU off?
     
  15. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    just get the pump thats for your car to make sure, because im not sure on that part
     
  16. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    This thread done, new one.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page