1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd1 engine harness in an obd2a car?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Sinner, Jan 31, 2006.

  1. Sinner

    Sinner Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Will an obd1 engine harness work in an obd2a car?

    here is the setup I have obd1 engine/harness obd2a car, obd2->obd1 skunk converter-> obd1 ecu.

    will that work?

    Thanks,
    Nick
     
  2. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    No.


    Period. End of story.


    Use your stock harness and add wires for VTEC.
     
  3. Sinner

    Sinner Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
  4. Sinner

    Sinner Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    http://www.ff-squad.com/technet/hybrid.92-95.obd2.htm

    says " The Honda geniuses were cool enough to make the US OBD2 integra engine wire harness backwards-compatible with OBD1 vehicles."

    So if the obd2 harness can plug into an obd1 car as stated above. Should an obd1 harness plug into an obd2 car as long as an obd1 ecu is used?

    Thanks Nick
     
  5. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    That's for an Integra. If your car is an OBD2 Integra, you can use an OBD1 harness, whether it's from a Civic or an Integra without any problems.

    You didn't say in your first post in this thread, nor have you said yet, what kinda car you've got, so I'm assuming by default that it's a Civic.

    If your car is a Civic, you have to use the same OBD harness as your car.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page