1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OBD2 B18C1 in DA help

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by mrmikey05, Jan 7, 2009.

  1. mrmikey05

    mrmikey05 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Hi, I need help doing a swap. I am going to pick up my obd2 GSR motor this weekend for my 90 Integra. The motor is Complete but I plan on using my LS Tranny. I got OBD1 & 2 GSR ecu ready for it already. What else do I need and what I need to know?

    I've done swap from single cam to single cam and LS swap to EG. But never dealth with vtec before.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. sekondgen

    sekondgen Junior Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Check out this swap guide G2IC: Teg Tips it's pretty straight forward. All B series engines bolt right up, the only difference on a vtec engine is the four wires you have to run for vtec/knock sensor. Anyway the swap guide in that link should answer your questions. Enjoy the motor, I love mine! You might want to look into a shorter geared tranny though, from what I hear that engine/tranny combo is far less than optimal.
     
  3. mrmikey05

    mrmikey05 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Thank you. That helps a lot. I am planning on getting a b16 cable tranny after I get it running. I heard it's a bad combo using ls tranny for gsr, but that's what I am able to use for now. Thanks though.
     
  4. sekondgen

    sekondgen Junior Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Yeah I hear ya. just get the thing running. I'm using the hydro GSR tranny that came with the swap. gearing is great but I can't really enjoy it because I have that stupid Hasport hydro conversion. It never allows the clutch to engage/disengage in the same spot and pedal feel is never consistant which makes driving it a chore. Every time I drive it I look like an ass that just learned to drive stick cause its either slipping or almost stalling:mad:! I'm gonna get the innovative kit, haven't heard any complaints on that one yet. Moral of the story is, if you happen to ever get a hydro tranny, try to stay away from the Hasport kit. Good luck man
     
  5. mrmikey05

    mrmikey05 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    How did you come about getting the cluster to work with the hydro tranny? I am just curious. By the way, I just ordered my obd0>obd1 jumper. When it arrive, I'm going to get right into it. Hopefully, it will be a new experience as I had never owns a vtec car before. Thanks you guys.

    Another quick question, is there a step by step tutorial out there for using the obd0-1 jumper? I don't want to get stuck like any of my previous swap with sohc and ls. With picture Is prefer.
     
  6. sekondgen

    sekondgen Junior Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    The cable and digital VSS' are interchangable. All you gotta do is take the one out of your cable tranny and bolt it into the hydro tranny and it works just like stock, correct reading and all. As far as the jumper harness I have never dealt with one before. I have an OBD1 swap in a OBD1 car. It seems pretty straight forward though. GL
     
  7. mrmikey05

    mrmikey05 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Now I have problem, how do I wire the dizzy? its a obd2. I'm not planning to buy the adapter.
     
  8. sekondgen

    sekondgen Junior Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Uuuuhhh.....thats a good question. The jumper doesn't take care of that? I guess you could just run your own wires from the distributor or compare obd2 and obd0 schematics and do some splicing.
     
  9. crxpowa89

    crxpowa89 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008

    What year cable tranny can you get the vss? It has to be a b-series tranny right?
     
  10. sekondgen

    sekondgen Junior Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    I'm pretty sure B-series VSS' are only interchangable within the B family (no D or H series) but I'm not 100% sure. If it is on/came off of a B-series tranny and has a hole in the top, capable of accepting a speedo cable and not a grey plug socket, then you're probably gonna be fine. Any VSS out of a 90-93 integra will work, or a JDM B16A, etc.
     
  11. crxpowa89

    crxpowa89 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Thanks sekondgen. Did u use obd2 injectors too? if you did, did u ground out the fuel injector resistor box? I'm having problems starting my car and i know its the injectors. Either the wires are crossed or bad injectors?
     
  12. sekondgen

    sekondgen Junior Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    I didn't have to worry about that because I have a 93 (OBD1) and I swaped in a OBD1 B18c. I'm not sure what to do about the injectors :confused:.
     
  13. mrmikey05

    mrmikey05 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    B18c1 obd2 in DA

    Hey guys, I'm back with news. I haven't been touching it for awhile now but I just test it now. My motor crank but does not fire up. I checked for fuel and that pass. There are fuel coming at injector. I have all three ground now. Battery is good. The only problem is that there are no spark. I am using the obd0 dizzy with one ear cut off. I have change the module and coil because I thought those fail but still the new one doesn't work either. I just bought new spark plug wire and still doesn't solve the problem. Could it be my harness? Or is it something I am missing. It crank healthy, but no spark to fire up.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page