1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help me get my CRX + D16Z6 to run OBD1

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by DIRT NASTY, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. DIRT NASTY

    DIRT NASTY New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Hey guys,

    i bought a 1989 CRX Si that came with a D16Z6 (sohc vtec) swap but still running the stock CRX Si dizzy and ECU (obd0) !!

    Im not sure what injectors its running but its MPFI and i don't see any resistor boxes anywhere.

    I'd like to get this motor running on a OBD1 P28 ECU but i'm not quite sure what i'm gonna need.

    I think i need:

    -OBD1 distributor
    -OBD1 computer
    -OBD0 > OBD1 ECU harness
    -OBD0 > OBD1 dizzy converter plugs

    is this a good wiring kit?

    Rywire - Online Store


    i keep reading stuff about converting the injectors... but if my D16Z6 is already running, should i assume the injectors are already converted?


    also, there's three unknown plugs underneath the carpet, all associated with the same harness. knock sensor, IAB, and a blank white one with 12 pins!!!

    [​IMG]

    these plugs are parts of a harness (possible aftermarket?) that is also connected to the 4wire O2 sensor, and the vtec oil pressure switch. Have any idea what to do with these?


    Thanks in advance,

    help me get it running obd1 !!! sucks not having VTEC!!

    [​IMG]
     
  2. isthisnameok4u

    isthisnameok4u New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    I could use this info too!

    I have a 88 hf rex and about to do the same build. I want to go with the rywire harness too just so I can unplug it and drop the stock one back in if need be.

    You will need the z6 dizzy injectors and wiring harness.
    Many honda OBD1 injectors are saturated which don't have resistor boxes
    You will have left over harness plug for the IAB that is not on the z6 intake and the knock sensor is not on the z6 block

    This all the info I have gathered so far, again I haven't done the swap yet so I'm just givin some insight not guidance sorry.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
  3. DIRT NASTY

    DIRT NASTY New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Thanks for your reply.

    As far as my unused plugs - it appears they are part of an aftermarket "vtec subharness" i'm probably just going to hook up my vtec and o2 sensor through it (as its already hooked up), instead of removing it and completely redoing the vtec subharness from scratch (even though that would be cleaner).

    If my D16Z6 is already running (albeit on the obd0 crx computer and dizzy) does that mean that whoever did the swap already modified the injectors? Or is that something I need to modify when i switch the ECU and dizzy to OBD1 ?



    I wanted to buy my harness from rywire as well but they are closed for all Dec. not taking any orders!

    Instead, I bought my harness at Pann Auto Performance - San Diego largest aftermarket automotive performance parts - What do you drive? - Homepage

    You can also use Boomslang Fabrication - The Performance Wiring Specialists , hondata, Evasive Motorsports - Your Source for Import Automotive Performance Parts , Xenocron Tuning: Fuel Management and DIY Tuning Resource Center for Honda and Acura Performance - Hondata, eCtune, Neptune, Crome, TurboEdit, Uberdata , HA Motorsports | GO FASTER | Honda Tuning Specialists! etc etc
     
  4. isthisnameok4u

    isthisnameok4u New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    The guy who did your swap must have installed a rywire(or someone) harness
    It seams to me he wanted to keep the p28 and jummper for obd1-obd0 and putting the stock SI ecu to run, so the ecu thinks its running a d16a6 with no vtec
    Just get yourself a p28 ecu and a obd0-obd1 jummper, I think that's all your missing for you swap.Let me know if it works.
     
  5. isthisnameok4u

    isthisnameok4u New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    If your engine bay in the picture above looks like that running than you have a "wire tuck" harness which is nice, and expensive but that is a very nice way to do the swap with good attention to detail.
     
  6. CrixSi91

    CrixSi91 Junior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Location:
    Port Deposit, MD
    The D16Z6 will run with the stock Si injectors. I would go with Z6 injectors, Z6 dizzy wit 0bd0 to 0bd1 dizzy wiring harness from rywire, p28 ecu wit 0bd0 to 0bd1 jumper wire from rywire also use rywire's v-Tec sub harness. As far as the resistor box you don't need it that's why it's not there. They probably cut the wires that went into the one that was there and just spliced them together. That's what I did when I did my Z6 swap. It was a plug and play swap.
     
  7. CrixSi91

    CrixSi91 Junior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Location:
    Port Deposit, MD
    Almost forgot. When I used the rywire harness I had to use a four wire oxygen sensor. So you'll need one of those.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page