1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question>> D16Z6 Swap into 88 Civic LX

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by ceehris, Nov 5, 2006.

  1. ceehris

    ceehris New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Vancity, Canada
    okay well basically i just bought a 88 civic lx (4door) and it already has a d16z6 swap into it. buddy sold it to me cheap because it nolonger runs.
    He had the motor swapped by some "kindergardner" and the wiring job is real shitty. So I am guessing it is most likely a wiring problem. Regardless I am going to rewire all the dpfi to mpfi and so on to cancel that out as a possible problem first. I have done simple motor swaps in the past but nothing to
    do with vtech. so here are the my questions I have about this swap.....

    Is a D16z6 basically the same motor as a D16a6 just with Vtech?

    What is the best/easiest ECU to use with this swap??
    (I am under the impression that you would just use a PM6 with a Vtech Controller)

    Is a Civic LX the same wiring as a DX?

    Is there anything important I need to know about this doing this Swap?

    I would appreciate it if anyone could answer these questions and any future questions I will have.

    thanks,
    Cee
     
  2. ef8

    ef8 Junior Member

    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Well first your going to need to get another engine harness for the LX.Next just wire MPFI off of that harness.Now you need to convert to obd1 to get it to run properly.You will need a P28 ecu,obd1 dizzy,a 4wire o2 sensor and a you will need to wire the obd1 injectors or just keep your obd0 injectors and keep your resistor box.Your going to need a OBD1 ecu jumper.You can make your own (tedious wiring) or you can find one pre-wired for around $100.Check out Rywire - Online Store they have everything you would need and can help out alot.Dont worry with the VTEC controller,just do it the right way with the correct ecu and you will be much happier.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2006
  3. ef8

    ef8 Junior Member

    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    He should get a new harness being that he wants to re-do the mpfi swap.There is no telling what is wrong with the wiring in it now and it would be best and smart to just re-do it so you are positive its correct.
     
  4. ceehris

    ceehris New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Vancity, Canada

    damn after looking around more on the forum. ive found alot of the info I needed!
    Just a few more Qs
    Will all the connectors from the 88 lx match up with the d16z6 (93 si)??
    if I have the wrong dizzy as it is obd0 and I need a obd1 dizzy what year/models can I find this in if I am to search some auto wreckers?!
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2006
  5. ceehris

    ceehris New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Vancity, Canada
    heres some pics of the engine and car

    [​IMG]
     
  6. ceehris

    ceehris New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Vancity, Canada
  7. ceehris

    ceehris New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Vancity, Canada
    Ya okay thanks man I appreciate the info!
    Yea its not the A6 intake manifold I know that. Might be the A6 throttle body though. I havent taken a very good look at the TB too closely. Yea buddy who did the swap left the timing cover off. He says its a JDM look, I personally think its a stupid idea. Im not sure if Im going to be able to find just a timing cover.
    Do you think any D series timing cover would fit?
    when you speak of IAT are you refering to the IACV (Idle Air Control Valve)? If so yea I know what you mean by making it a bit longer. I remember I had to do that when I did my first DX to SI swap.
    So I take it I will still have to swap the TPS sensor outter wires!?
    What did you have to do with the shifter linkage to make it work with the Z6 in yours? I know its a cable clutch. I would assume that all the linkages would be the same as dont you just use an SI tranny?
    Thnks for All Your Help by the Way! I was sorta panicking after I looked the car over with how much crap was messed up and I was unsure where I was going to find the info to do it correctly! so thanks again!
    With all the kits they have for this swap on Rywire.com which one do you think would be the cheapest to use and the best for my situation?
    As from what I see. All I really need is the obd0 to obd1 ecu jumper. as I am going to wire the dizzy obd1 plug onto my harness instead of using the dizzy adapter on Rywire.com

    I just talked to buddy that did the swap. and he sayed the motor ran. the only reason it wont now is because it is missing the Vtech controller. Is this true. If it was running off of a PM6 with a Vtech controller, If the Vtech Controller is now missing. Would it cause the motor to not run?
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2006
  8. ceehris

    ceehris New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Vancity, Canada
    whats the difference between a civic Si tranny and a crx si tranny? I thought they the same thing!
    Im not sure what tranny is on the motor right now, I know its a cable clutch.
    Does Anyone know what trannys you can use with the d16z6? other than the stock one that comes with it
     
  9. ef8

    ef8 Junior Member

    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    You can use any cable d-series tranny.civic and crx si trannys are the best.
     
  10. ceehris

    ceehris New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Vancity, Canada
    will the shifter linkage have to changed at all?
     
  11. ceehris

    ceehris New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Vancity, Canada
    So I cranked over the engine today and checked the PM6 (yes I know bad ecu to use with d16z6) for a DTC and its displaying only one code, which is 4.
    this means its the crank angle sensor or could be the wiring to it.
    but anyways I have another question!
    since its giving dtc 4 would this cause the motor not to run?
    the crank sensor is built into the dizzy right (obd0)?
     
  12. ceehris

    ceehris New Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Vancity, Canada
    Would it forsure cause the car not to run?
    it turns over but doesnt fire
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page