1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question for the Smarties

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by jtornado, Feb 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jtornado

    jtornado New Member

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Picture a fully assembled engine but without head/block dowel pins. Could this cause anything and isn't a dowel pin just like an alignment pin????
     
  2. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
  3. jtornado

    jtornado New Member

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    lol problem is that I already torqued the head onto the block so Ill have to buy a new head gasket just to put in dowel pins. Ya i just thought they were for alignment but on some other vehicle they can be very important.
    If it doesn't hurt anything than I wont worry about it but if it does than ill have to worry about it. Im doing this car for a guy but I work on it when I can so he is in no hurry. It costs like almost $50 for a new head gasket at the parts store but if I do replace it ill have to buy him a new one, maybe an ebay head gasket. hehe
    Blanco do I really need to put them in????
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    remind me never to go to you for mechanic work.. :wall:
     
  5. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    Yeah, I'm with you.....!
     
  6. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    have you run the engine and put fluids in it? why would you have to get a new head gasket?

    and even if you do need a new gasket...do a job right or dont do it. this is why honda guys get a bad rap.
     
  7. jtornado

    jtornado New Member

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    no, people who fucking put gay wings and body kits on hondas make us look bad. Trust me its common around here and they look gayer every minute. Im not a bad mechanic its just in my point of view all it is, is to align the head onto the block before torquing the head down. I didn't put any fluids in and my mechanic says you should never re use the head gasket after it has been flattened. I can re use the oem head bolts because they have a aluminum block and head so therefore these bolts DO NOT HAVE TORQUE TO YIELD BOLTS. I went through this already cause I went to go buy some new head bolts and the parts store didn't have them so they called the ware house and they said I can re use the head bolts.

    Also eg6sir this is a first time experience so you can't say im a bad mechanic.
    Everyone has mistakes. Matter of fact you don't even know me but your right maybe you shouldn't go to me for mechanic work because I dont charge labor. THIS IS A LEARNING PROCESS AND PROJECT FOR A FRIEND NOT TO PROVE ANYTHING

    reikoshea your saying I can use the head gasket again even though I never put fluids or anything in the motor yet????
     
  8. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    what parts store was that? honda genuine or like autozone? i've read elsewhere honda bolts are torque to yeild. u sure about that?
     
  9. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    its a maybe...ive never tried it personally.

    if you want to be 100% sure, get the head bolts and get a new gasket...thats all im willing to say.
     
  10. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    If this is a learning experience for you, then why are you getting mad when people are trying to help you? You admit that you're just learning. Why don't you just listen to people that have done this many, many times? Chill out man, they're just trying to help. If you don't want it, why did you start the thread?
     
  11. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    i just asked a friend of mine that works for a honda dealer. buy a new headgasket.
     
  12. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    :werd:
     
  13. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Another good point to make here...why would you do something and then come and ask if it was the right thing to do? You should first ask the proper method of doing something, then go do it. That way you don't waste time and money...
     
  14. funkstar

    funkstar funkstar

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Location:
    atl ga
    also consider how much it will cost if you start the engine and find out how important those little pins are:huh:
     
  15. jtornado

    jtornado New Member

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ya you guys have a good point. I will have to buy a new head gasket and make him pay for the dowel pins cause The motor was ls/vtec then he wanted me to switch it back to the LS. The LS dowel pins are different than ls/vtec everyone knows that. Blanco I doubt anyone would write or post anything about dowel pins but I got the point that its better to put them if before a problem does occur. Thanks for everyones help.
    Overall im not a bad mechanic its just I never had to come to this problem before. I should have known to put dowel pins in before I torqued the head. I had 2 problems, I never had any dowel pins for the ls to start with and I was anxious. I learned and listened
     
  16. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    ha ha, :withstupid:, that's why I no longer reply to questions like such. I used to be one of the most active in actually helping people. I got tired of the bullshit though.
     
  17. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    never said you were a bad mechanic..just didnt like what i saw here

    V
    V
    V

     
  18. jtornado

    jtornado New Member

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    lol oh the deal with the head gasket. Hey head gaskets are head gaskets and he just wants it to run, not for more performance. I told him to stay reliable so stick with the oem layer and gasket but ill probably buy him a good quality brand and some ebay gaskets are not that bad.
    Thanks everyone
    Blanco for anything that deals with tips for F/I or All Motor, a repair manual for a integra will not have anything under the forced induction or All Motor what so ever. repair manual only gives you factory specs, procedures and nothing more. I don't have a repair manual for HIS car and he don't have one either to let me use. I have all data and mitchell but that don't tell me why I need to put a dowel pin in. I know what your getting at though Blanco and ill try to mostly ask non related oem questions but if I need to I will. I dont have a repair manual for all vehicles and neither do you so I come here to see what other people suggest or say. Not taking their word but it does give me ideas.
    But thanks blanco and everyone else for your help.
    Sorry eg6sir for yelling at you

    Also sometimes the repair will not give you the answer your looking for. It never told me a main relay can make my car not start but looking under forums and people who have experienced this before told me it can.
    :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2008
  19. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    that was yelling.. i've had a lot worse here.. haha..

    but if you knew you should have put the dowel pins in, why did you go ahead and torque the head down???.. i would have called the owner and told him i cant finish it until i have these parts..
     
  20. jtornado

    jtornado New Member

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ya I explained to him about the head bolts and gasket and dowel pins and he said he wants to pay for the head gasket cause im doing him a favor and thats life. He is a really nice guy. Well like I said I should have thought about it before but I was so damn anxious which was stuipid But thanks eg6sir
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page