1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Questions about LS Vtec (b18block b16head)

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by dontknowsquatbouthonda, Oct 4, 2008.

1. dontknowsquatbouthonda

dontknowsquatbouthonda New Member

Ok, so I am new to the whole Honda scene. I just recently got a 94 Civic DX Coupe. Its just got the stock d15b7. I am looking at different motors to swap in it. I am wanting to put a h22 in it and turbo it. I know I would have to make some mods to my car to fit this in my car. If I can find a b16 or a b18 to drop in there for now, I will.Now everyone keeps telling me that I need to put a LS Vtec in my car. Im not super crazy about having max power just so I can brag and drive it as my daily driver. I am just curious what the horsepower is at the block on just a stock LS Vtec is and a after market LS Vtec ( cams/intake/chipped ecu, etc ). So far nobody has been able to tell me the horsepower on a LS Vtec but thats all everyone talks about. At this point Im leaning more towards an H22 rather than a LS Vtec. Thanks

2. BrutalB83

BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

Your screen name is 100% accurate in describing you. There is no way anyone is going to be able to answer your question. It's way too vague. You're talking about after-market intake/headers/exhaust/cams, etc. but which ones? Crappy E-Bay parts? Greddy? Skunk2? The only way to answer a question like this is to find someone who's actually built a motor with a certain combination of parts and ask them how much power it made, or, build it yourself and put it on the dyno.

And I really wouldn't recommend finding a B-series to "drop in for now." B16s and B18s are expensive enough that I wouldn't want to use one as a temporary, throw-away motor. If the H22 is what you want then just put your money towards that from the beginning...

3. dontknowsquatbouthonda

dontknowsquatbouthonda New Member