1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Secondary Butterflies Q!

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Hybrid93Hatch, Jun 17, 2003.

  1. Hybrid93Hatch

    Hybrid93Hatch Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Someone said they do. Another said they don't.
    The car is a 93 Cx with a 98 GSR motor (usdm) / stock OBD1 p72 ECU. I had my father get the rpm's up to about 7k and they did not open. Before I start cutting wires I would like to know if they open in neutral or only when the car is in gear.
    Thanks for any help!

    I only ran 4 wires with my swap:
    --A4 vtec Solenoid
    --A17 Secondary Intake Solenoid
    --D3 Knock Sensor
    --D6 vtec Oil Pressure Switch
     
  2. SixtySecondAssassin

    SixtySecondAssassin Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    my understanding was that they didnt open until a certain rpm.

    youll also need to convert to a 4 wire o2 sensor if you havent.
     
  3. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    ive always gone by the assumption that they were closed until the ECU grounded the solenoid and opened them
     
  4. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    I would upgrade that manifold to a ITR/Skunk unit. No butterflies and no worries.



    Milan
     
  5. joe654891

    joe654891 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    I guess I'm having the same suspicions as Hybrid93 is having. I don't think my secondaries are opening up. I know you guys are saying to just dump the dual runners for a sk2 manifold but unfortunately, I am low on funds. I will attach a pic of the secondary butterfly solonoid. CAn anyone of you kindly tell me if it is on the open position or closed pisition. Thanks...

    ~joe

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Hybrid93Hatch

    Hybrid93Hatch Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    I actually took that pic. My motor was reved to 7k and I watched under the hood as that thing did not move. The rod is suppose to come down "opening" the butterflies...
     
  7. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    secondaries do open in nuetral. i have a 94 b18c1 in my CRX and they open just fine. if the motor/ecu is stock they should open at like 5700-5800 rpm. maybe you ran the wire wrong?? dont know. :shrug:
     
  8. joe654891

    joe654891 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    I know...I got that pic from you ;) I did the same test you did and I did not see that thing move either. I don't think that rod (talking about that rod coming from that spaceship looking thing, right?)can come down as it is already down. So does anyone know if that pic shows the solonoid in the open position or closed position?

    ~joe
     
  9. joe654891

    joe654891 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    c'mon guys...no one knows.

    ~joe
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  11. joe654891

    joe654891 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Thanks B...Now if I'm getting this right, (since I have an obd1 ecu and obd1 harness) moving a20 to a17 is not good enough. I still have to wire a 12v source wire to the black wire on the IAB plug, right? Thanks...

    ~joe
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    your using an obd1 harness? hrm... that might change things a little.... the article was written for obd2 motor and harness with obd1 car and ecu... I'm really not sure.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page