1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stock P28 on H22A

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by misterpsycho, Jul 28, 2004.

  1. misterpsycho

    misterpsycho Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I've got a '92 Civic hatch with a JDM H22A

    i was running a chipped P28 but somehow fried that ECU.... i just picked up a stock P28

    my question is.... is it safe to run a stock P28 on the H22A? will i be running it too lean now?

    thanks!
     
  2. NotUrAverage_Si

    NotUrAverage_Si Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Location:
    :/
    what chip was in the old p28?
     
  3. beerbongskickass

    beerbongskickass Senior Member

    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Longview WA
    Have you thought about running uberdata? If you get a burner you can make a map or find somebody to make one for you that will run your H22. Here is a basemap that might work for your car... http://www.homemadeturbo.com/forum/index.p...24400#msg224400

    I would also check the uberdata forum under the ROMs section because I know there is another basemap for an H22 in there.
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    a stock p28 will run the h22 fine... but i wouldn't take it over 4k. use it to putt around town with.

    the fuel maps are off, but more so, the igntion maps are koooky.

    check this out..

    [​IMG]


    this is an p61 vs a chipped p28 vs a p30. on a b16 engine


    bah, just read it here...
    http://www.hondaswap.com/~pills/chet_ecu.html
     
  5. mrnikelz

    mrnikelz Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    You guys know what you are talking about. I have an EK w/ an H22A with the P13 ECU and the check engine light won't turn off. I figured it was because of the OBD2 to OBD1 conversion, but in actuality it was not. I have tried to get an OBD 1 P72 ECU, but they are just to damn expensive or hard to come by. I have a P30 but I am afraid that there may be some problems. Does anyone know if it will work to my advantage because I am tired of seeing the light and am certain that because of it, my car is not running to it's full potential. On the dyno it made 177hp and 150tq to the wheels with just about every bolt on possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    have you pulled the code?

    its a simple process... figure out what the code is, whats wrong, and then you can actually fix it.

    the p13 is the best ecu for the h22, end of story- unless you are moving to a hondata system
     
  7. mrnikelz

    mrnikelz Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Straight up I forgot exactly which code it is throwing but I definetely will find out. About two years ago I was really interested in Hondata and thought about having it installed but they told me that the P13 Ecu would not work correctly. They told me to use either a P28 or a P72, and the not only would the problem be solved but I would gain a hell of a lot more power. And to tell you the truth that makes sense because I have an intake, header, and exhaust, FPRegulator, and VTEC controller and still can't manage more than 180 at the wheels.
     
  8. HondaTypeR

    HondaTypeR Junior Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    Spring Hill, FL
    I have a H22 hatch and I was running a P13 and I couldnt get faster than a 14.2@98 I switched to a P72 and the car pulls soooo much harder than it did before. I haven't made it to the track with the new ecu but I know it will be faster. Well if I can catch traction :D
     
  9. mrnikelz

    mrnikelz Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    You are a lucky man. I am just to cheap and have to many other car projects other wise I would spend the $175 plus dollars on the ECU. Half of my friends tell me that they have the hookup for dirt cheap, but every time I go to see what's up with the ECU's they always have some knock off program that I'm not down with. If anyone has an extra P72 laying around I have got tons of desirable parts that I have no problem getting rid of. EF, EG, EK , DC all of it.
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    p13's don't take to chipping well at all, and thats why hondata doesn't even give an application for it.
    runnign a p72 will give the same result with all the features the h22 ecu has anyway, so why bother with the p13 anyway?
     
  11. misterpsycho

    misterpsycho Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    well, the P28 is in and it seems ok.... it doesn't have the same pull as when i had the chipped P28 but it's working out ok

    i don't think i'm gonna bother chipping it because i've got a VAFC2 sitting in my backseat waiting to be installed.... i figure i can just richen out the fuel that way

    or would i still have to chip it with the VAFC??
     
  12. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    I'd chip the P28 to run the H22 maps. Don't mess with the VAFC.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page