1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Think it will work?

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by porkfried83, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. porkfried83

    porkfried83 New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    ME
    I have a p28 ecu for my d16z6. And I have a chip but not for a p28. Its a p30 chip, witch is for a DOHC VTEC. A B16 I believe. Do you think it would hurt to put it in?
    VTEC: 5400 RPM
    REDLINE: 8800 RPM
    KNOCK SENSOR: DISABLED (Don't have one)
    SPEED LIMITER: DISABLED

    I don't even rev it past 6000 rpms. Don't dear with stock internals. :confused:
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    It will run that engine fine, vtec crossover may be a little off, but ...who cares.
     
  3. porkfried83

    porkfried83 New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    ME
    Cool, I'm gonna give it a shot!
     
  4. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    biggest thing is the rev limiter.... don't go much past 7200 or the D will go boom.

    other than that, you'll probably have poorer fuel economy by a few mpg's
     
  5. porkfried83

    porkfried83 New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    ME
    ya any more then that and i'll probably throw a rod or something.
     
  6. porkfried83

    porkfried83 New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    ME
    I'm finaly getting around to putting the chip in. One question, do I have to run 91 octane cause thats all we got around here. Or can I run regular unleaded or will detonation be a problem? Gas price's suck. But thats one thing good about the 1.6 sohc, good on gas.
     
  7. Dual-500

    Dual-500 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    216
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    I always run 91 octane and have since day 1, even with the stock D16A6.
     
  8. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Depends on the program in the chip...
     
  9. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
    chips good to eat not good for your engine management
     
  10. porkfried83

    porkfried83 New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    ME
    Maybe I'll get the Demon or Hondata someday.
     
  11. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    Why would you even use the chip? It doesn't do anything beneficial.
     
  12. Jared759

    Jared759 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    SC
    A chip is beneficial it provides a basemap the same way hondata would when you order it from a dealer. You just don't have the "on the fly" tuning capabilities as hondata.
     
  13. Dual-500

    Dual-500 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    216
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    ^ If you really don't know, it's best not to offer advice.
     
  14. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Yeah, but the chip he has isn't even for his engine. I'd say just skip it. He'll probably just end up with wonky a/f ratios and slightly shittier mpg...
     
  15. porkfried83

    porkfried83 New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    ME
    Got a Ostrich+Extreme Hulog and chrome on the way...and I pulled the jumper and the ecu is back to stock. Just had the chip l
     
  16. porkfried83

    porkfried83 New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    ME
    Just had the chip lying around...Can't you reprogram them eproms? And the car ran fine with the chip. Just wanted to see what it did, new to this tuning stuff. Like BrutalB83 said just skip it. Thanks 4 the info.
     
  17. Dual-500

    Dual-500 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    216
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Typically an EPROM is a one shot deal to program. It takes and EEROM to be able to re-program.

    EPROM - Electronically Programmable Read Only Memory

    EEPROM - Electronically Eraseable Programmable Read Only Memory

    Could be some other stuff out there now, I did my Digital Electronics training in the early 70's and again in the late 80's.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2013
  18. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    EEPROM. If it was an EEROM, the EE part wouldn't matter at all.
     
  19. Dual-500

    Dual-500 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    216
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Yeah well, it's been a while.... :)
     
  20. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page