1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TPS help

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by jastunna1987, Dec 21, 2004.

  1. jastunna1987

    jastunna1987 Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Hey, i was trying to test and adjust my TPS...it was still connected to the harness and i set it down. I think i bumped it against the throttle body and it broke. Now my CEL is on and my car runs a lil rougher my air/fuel ratio gauge also doesnt work/isnt accurate. It was running a lil better a few days later, but the CEL was still on. My idle doesnt surge anymore, should i pull the ECU backup fuse, and try to reset the code? My idle is also at 1500 RPM..should i adjust the idle screw to fix that?
     
  2. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    did you replace the TPS? when i got my engine it was broken already so i didn't change it when i started my car it idled at 2000 rpms and when i changed it the idle went down to 600 rpms so i think you need to change the tps still and then you should be good from there. if you changed it then yes i would pull the ecu back up fuse and then see if you get any codes from there
     
  3. jastunna1987

    jastunna1987 Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    nah..i didnt change it, i was just testing the voltage on it. But like i said, i think it banged against the throttle body or somethin while i was taking it off. right now it idles at 1500 rpm and it boggs when im acceleratin under 2500 RPM. so should i just get a new one? I pulled the backup fused and adjusted the idle screw, still nothing.
     
  4. brc80

    brc80 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    Southern California
  5. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    yeah just get a new one
     
  6. Johnnylawless

    Johnnylawless Senior Member

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Don't mean to thread jack, but where can you buy just a TPS by itself?
    I need one for a GSR TB.
     
  7. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
  8. Johnnylawless

    Johnnylawless Senior Member

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    and your second URL has to do with honda CARS how? looks like bikes to me :boxing:
     
  9. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    go to the honda motorcycle dealership, and order a TPS sensor for a CBR 600.
    Im pretty sure they are the same
     
  10. Johnnylawless

    Johnnylawless Senior Member

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Thanks,Ill Look into that :D
     
  11. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    from honda, you can't directly order just a TPS, when you "bumped" or "knocked" it, did anything physically break off?

    were you rotating the thing and measuring the voltage at the ECU?
     
  12. jastunna1987

    jastunna1987 Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    when i knocked it...nothing physically broke. I was rotating it, and measuring the wires at the TPS harness. I just needed to stick a voltmeter into the middle wire i think it was. Well, now it idles at 1500 RPM...and it runs a lil crappier. I'll have to order it from Honda huh? Well thats probably going to cost an arm..my friend works at the Honda dealer and gets a 40% discount though.
     
  13. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    the issue is, you'll have to buy the whole throttle body assembly. they will not just sell the TPS. i would recheck it... if you click on my webpage in my sig, there is a how-to adjust a tps.
     
  14. jastunna1987

    jastunna1987 Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page