1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

transmission: b20 swap

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by timEspeed, Dec 19, 2002.

  1. timEspeed

    timEspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    I've Been thinking of droppin' a b20vtec into my '91 civic h/b. Whats the best transmission to use? b16a with LSD, GSR, or ITR? is transmission even nessesary? Also, for a n/a application does the blosk need to be sleeved?
    thanx
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    227
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    A transmission is necessary.... otherwise you'll have an engine that's not hooked up to anything that makes your car move!

    You need a cable clutch transmission for your 91 Civic, so you don't want to use an ITR... they all have hydraulic clutches. For the best acceleration, you'll want to get a USDM 92-93 Integra GSR transmission, or you could try to get the Integra XSi/RSi transmission from a JDM Integra. The 92-93 have slightly better gearing than the 90-91. Any other B series cable clutch will work too, but you'll want to stick to the cable series.

    For N/A applications, you do NOT need to resleeve the block. Just make sure that you put the engine together correcly and that all of your tolerances are in check- and don't use cheap parts. For boost, you'll be fine on the stock sleeve too- just don't boost too much.

    :D
     
  3. timEspeed

    timEspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    No shit transnission is necessary, what imeant was do ineed a new one or can I use the staock tran. anyway....
    Where can I find an Integra GSR tranny? The junkyards around here don't have much selection in terms of imports

     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    227
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX


    Nope. Just build it with the right parts (ARP bolts/studs), good pistons, and good rods (I like Eagle), and you'll be fine. I've been running 12.6:1 on the stock sleeve for the last 42k miles and I haven't had any issues.
     
  5. timEspeed

    timEspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    12.6:1?? what octane gas do you run? I was checkin out that NOS octane booster, I don't want race gas cause It'll be daily driven......

    Alright, another question...... why do I need axels? distributor?

    thanx again......
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    227
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    93 octane, no boosters. I used the NOS "off road" octane booster with 91 octane back in Oklahoma and it was ok most of the time.

    Axles- just get the ones to match yout transmission... which would be GSR axles. Distributor- stock unit is just fine. Match it up with your OBD revision.
     
  7. timEspeed

    timEspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    I know you need the one that matches the tranny, I was just wondering why they're needed. For some reason I believe it's because the stock will snap? If its just a simple 'tranny to axel' fitment problem, than why aren't conversions fabricated?

    P.s. Intercrew's website isn't working, could your link be wrong?

    thanx
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    It is because the Bseries uses halfshafts
     
  9. timEspeed

    timEspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    halfshafts? sorry, don't know much about chasis, suspension, axels.
     
  10. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    227
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    D series engines uses two shafts- unequal length. B series uses three shafts- one on passenger side, intermediate and halfshaft on driver's side. The halfshafts are equal (or very close to the same) length, so you get less torque steer on acceleration.

    It is basically a simple "axle to tranny" fitment problem- and nobody makes conversion kits because there's no need for one. Just get the axles for your transmission, and everything will work just fine... unless you're swapping into the 4G Civic STD.
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    227
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Oh- Intercrew's site may be down- I know my link is correct though.
     
  12. timEspeed

    timEspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    I went to your b20 swap site... I just wanted to know how much it cost you and if you've done anything recently (since the page was made) like proper tuning, cams, etc, i.e.: have you hit 200 whp yet?
     
  13. timEspeed

    timEspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Hola....
    como Estas?
    hay problema?
    mi casa es su casa.....
     
  14. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    227
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    PM me next time if I don't get back to the thread... sometimes I miss them.

    :D

    No major engine changes since that page was made, so no power increases. I'm moving to Dallas, so I'll be tuning more when I get there. I have a pair of Skunk2 cam gears that I'm sure would free up some power, and I think my rings are shot- so replacing rings would get some power back, and so would tuning with cam gears. My headwork will be done once I'm in Dallas, so I expect to go WAY beyond 200whp.
     
  15. timEspeed

    timEspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Cool~
    over 200, or WAY over 200 whp in a street-driven honda is fu*kin awesome. The way I see it, A trans Am or Z28 is no more than 350 hp and ways twice as much as a civic coupe and the like. So half of the weight with more than half the horse means honda beats muscle car. No wonder I sold my '85 TA for a civic hatch!!
     
  16. timEspeed

    timEspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    so how much $$$ have you put into the engine from the start? What I see listed is b20 block, b16 head, pistons, rods, injectors, ECU, ITR tranny with LSD, mounts. Whats this VTEC radiator do, how's it work?
    thanx again.......
     
  17. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    227
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX


    Nah, more is better. I'm at 185whp now, and it's not quite enough to keep up with a C5 Corvette (yesterday)... I need more.

    Half the weight with more than half the power doesn't really mean much- you have to look at torque figures, gearing, how the power curve looks, etc. A Civic with 200whp on a B block will most likely cream a stock Z20 or Trans Am though.

    :lol:



    Never ask any serious modder that- it's almost like asking a woman how old she is.

    :D

    "Enough" but "not done yet" is the answer you'll get from me, and quite a few other people around here. I'll tell you this- my swap installed as a "basic package" was $6000, and that doesn't include some of the stuff that's listed on my page right now. There's much more being added on come January, but that's uh... partly because of stupid stuff I did (yesterday).

    The del Sol VTEC radiator gives you the cooling capacity of the Integra radiator without taking up all the space. It's a half-width double thickness radiator with the same capacity as the single thickness Integra radiator, so it cools your engine/coolant as well as the Integra unit without you having to fabricate new mounts. Make sense? The Integra radiator goes all the way across the front end, while the del Sol and stock Civic units only cover half the width....
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page