1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Troubleshooting an LSvtec swap/build

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Thateguhate, Sep 1, 2006.

  1. Thateguhate

    Thateguhate Junior Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    aight the title tells all, but for the most part heres a general description of the setup.

    97gsr head
    LS block
    OBD 2> OBD1 conversion. (gsr wiring harness)
    P28 ECU
    and it was converted from auto > manual.... not that it really matters but anyways heres the deal... 3 things wrong.

    1. It keeps throwing code 1. (primary o2 Sensor) The sensor itself is good, and plugged in but still throws the code and we cant figure out why.

    2. My p28 ecu's rev limit seems to be set to 4k and it cuts out.. gets to 4k and then nada.

    We threw in a stock obd1 gsr ecu and it revved fine.. Could the ecu just need a re-program? or a new basemap to go on possibly?

    3. The throttle cable wont seem to give us enough slack, Im using a skunk2 intake mani (the one that looks similar to the C5 intake mani) and the bracket needed to be bent a bit to get it to meet but the damn thing still doesnt have enough slack so it holds idle @ 2k lol, anyone ever mickey mouse any of this shit?!?!?!

    Thanks in advance, its my first swap and it hasnt been a smooth ride..:(
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2006
  2. 94gsreg

    94gsreg 94gsreg

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location:
    Missouri
    as for the throttle cable and bracket go to acura and get the bracket and cable for an integra type r the cable is $20 and the bracket is $9. ive got the same manifold and it works great.
     
  3. Thateguhate

    Thateguhate Junior Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    right on... probably better off than trying to modify the one I already have.
     
  4. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    the 4k rev limmit might be launch
     
  5. Thateguhate

    Thateguhate Junior Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006

    Yeah my tuner finally had a chance to check it out and he said it clears after 5mph so it was for launching.. I hadnt tryed to drive on that ecu being the compression was so far off from the motor I didnt wanna take that chance.
     
  6. 94gsreg

    94gsreg 94gsreg

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location:
    Missouri
    if you are using a gsr throttle body, you need to change out the throttle cable pulley on it. just use one off of any other throttle body that isnt an automatic.
     
  7. Thateguhate

    Thateguhate Junior Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006

    that was another issue that we resolved from the beginning.. It seemed more like the throttle rotor though. I found out too that the port on top of the TB was broken. Picked up a 74mm STR throttle body to cure that. Now it calibrates fine.


    Im supposed to be getting the car out today, our only issue is we forgot to set the injector size on the ecu so it was flooding the motor. I gotta drive it on a stock obd1 gsr ecu again but only for a couple blocks. My wideband will tell all but i know its gonna run super rich for those couple of mins.


    This might not matter if i knew chrome and had the know how, so I gotta wait for my tuner again.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page