1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Video Card

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by reckedracing, Oct 26, 2006.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
  2. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    itll do, but it kinda sucks :p
     
  3. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    does it suck more than what i have now?
    i'd like them to be similar

    and which part sucks?
    the PCI video card part?
    or the 32mb part?
    and what would a "non sucky" card cost approx?
    no gaming, just office work
     
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    well if you are just doing office work, why get a new card? I doubt that office is really loading down your cpu with graphics processes.

    If you are looking for something under 40 bucks:
    BIOSTAR GeForce FX5200 VP5200SS16 Video Card - Retail at Newegg.com

    Thats gonna be the card you want.

    To answer your question, PCI does suck for graphics interface, and it can be buggy at times.

    For a PCI card id have to go with this one:
    GECUBE Radeon 9250 GC-R9250LPCI-C3 Low Profile Video Card - Retail at Newegg.com

    after shipping its 45 bucks
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2006
  5. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    i'm looking to run dual monitors
    i thought the cheapest way was to just add a PCI card and be done with it

    i currently have one monitor output thats integrated into the mobo
    i'm trying to add an AGP? whatever kind of card right now but my computer doesn't seem to be seeing it, not sure if i need to move jumpers on the mobo or what the fuck is going on
    lol
    if you know anything about this let me know
    thanks

    i think the one i am trying to get to work is a
    Chaintech RIA3D5 - Geforce 2 32 MB AGP
    older than shit, i just wanna see if i can make this work
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2006
  6. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    adding a pci card will not allow you to do dual monitors. youll want a card that either had 2 outputs for vga or get a monitor that support DVI and connect 1 with dvi and one with vga.

    what youre thinking wont work.
     
  7. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    really?
    one onboard and one pci won't do dual?
    that blows
     
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    nope, tried it with the old ti4200. didnt do it. it would only support one at a time.
     
  9. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
  10. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    well considering hes posting stuff from newegg and the one i posted above is from newegg...i get the feeling he knows where the site is.
     
  11. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    its just a listing of a more viable choices instead old parts.
     
  12. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    ok, so here's my dilema
    i've tried an AGP card, but i get nothing from it
    the computer doesn't even seem to recognize that its there
    whats the chances my AGP slot is shot?
     
  13. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Go into your bios and disable the onboard card and that should enable your AGP slot.
     
  14. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    MX400 and FX5200 absolutely sucks. I had a MSI 128 FX5200, and upgraded to a Radeon 9600 that I got for free...It's like night and day. I say upgrade to a Radeon 7000 or something around there; ive seen them go for about $40.
     
  15. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    nVidia < 6200 is worthless. At the bare min you need to have a 6200 or better. And they should be pretty cheap.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page