1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vtec-e help

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by 88hatchdx, Feb 22, 2007.

  1. 88hatchdx

    88hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    aberdeen
    ok im new here and i need some help...

    first off i have a 88 EF and i just bought a vtec-e head from a friend for $20 with the fuel injection im not too sure what ecu i would need for it.
    i looked at the head its a P07.
    my friend said the head came out of a 94 vx should i just get a harness from a vx or what?

    `scott
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well if it was me i wouldnt even mess with it the vtec e is junk
     
  3. 88hatchdx

    88hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    aberdeen
    thats all i could afford right now haha plus i heard they can put out more power than the y8 idk if its true or not.
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yea thats not true the vtec e has less power than a non vtec motor
     
  5. prdsmracer03

    prdsmracer03 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    That not true either the Vtec-E motor comes from a 96+ civic HX and its a 115hp and 104ft.lbs, the head specs are almost the same as a y8 head, only diffrence between EX and HX is ECU and Compression.
     
  6. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    thats true but i was talking about the first gen vtec e 92-95
     
  7. 88hatchdx

    88hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    aberdeen
    yea i think im going to use that head anyway and get a si manifold from the kid i bought the head from. figure id try somethin different i only payed 20$ for everything with the head. but im not sure which head gasket set to get i didnt really see any for a d15z1 should i just get the d15b?
     
  8. 88hatchdx

    88hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    aberdeen
    ah ok that gave me an idea lol
    anyway would i need a new distributor also for the swap
     
  9. prdsmracer03

    prdsmracer03 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    you'll need 4 injectors, an OBD0 Dizzy unless u plan on doing an OBD1 conversion (recomended), or u can cut some corners but still be quick, use the PR3 or PWO OBD0 ecu's from a B16 sIR motor, try find a B16 throttle body, and have fun wiring, there,s a couple more things that im forgeting but, i'll try find u the write up.

    LJ
     
  10. 88hatchdx

    88hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    aberdeen
    yea im going obd1
    should i go p28?
     
  11. stichedskater

    stichedskater Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    its not a vtec-e anymore its a basically a z6 motor now, and yes you should use a p28 you can use any wire harness but its better to get one from a vtec engine not
     
  12. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    thats the obd2 vtec e thats now basically a z6 the obd1 vtec e is junk for power
     
  13. stichedskater

    stichedskater Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    it doesn't really matter its like having a mini-me
     
  14. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    you know the vtec e makes 92 hp right
     
  15. stichedskater

    stichedskater Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    ok the reason that for that is because of the head and the computer.
     
  16. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    bingo= the same power when put on the non vtec block
     
  17. stichedskater

    stichedskater Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    haha thats where your wrong thats why i said to put a p28 because a vx isn't vtec-e its just a mini-me swap....

    and a mini-me swap raises the compression higher compression= more hp

    this is vtec-e

    SOHC VTEC-E
    Honda's next version of VTEC, VTEC-E, was used in a slightly different way; instead of optimising performance at high RPM, it was used to increase efficiency at low RPM. At low RPM, one of the two intake valves is only allowed to open a very small amount, increasing the fuel/air atomization in the cylinder and thus allowing a leaner mixture to be used. As the engine's speed increases, both valves are needed to supply sufficient mixture. A sliding pin, which is pressured by oil, as in the regular VTEC, is used to connect both valves together and allows the full opening of the second valve.
     
  18. stichedskater

    stichedskater Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    just cuz i got 12 posts doesn't make me a noob
     
  19. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    no, the vtec e first come out in the vx hatch, it says it right on the top of the motor,or also know as enhanced vtec either way if he puts the vx head from the vx on there it will suck, he will only benefit from a z6 head y8 head or hx head.
     
  20. stichedskater

    stichedskater Junior Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    nope the hx model is the one that comes with vtec-e i know for a fact i've already done this swap many times
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page