1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VTEC head swap

Discussion in 'Accord' started by CB792, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. CB792

    CB792 cb7 92

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    at home
    I have a 92 accord sohc lokking to put on a vtec head on a f22a1 block. What head can i use to make a dohc? Thanks for the help.
     
  2. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    none. youd have to get a sohc vtec head
     
  3. CB792

    CB792 cb7 92

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    at home
    thanks what all parts do i need 2 do this swap?
     
  4. D15Beater

    D15Beater HNFTuning

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Concord N.C.
    or get a h23 or F22b JDM head for you A1 block. H22 heads will not fit 4th gen accord blocks, neither will th F23 heads without some work.
     
  5. CB792

    CB792 cb7 92

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    at home
    what do u mean by some work what will i have to do i was told a f23 would bolt up with no work help plz thanks
     
  6. zone90cb7lx

    zone90cb7lx just a noob...

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    So Cal
    a sh*t load of wireing and work and cash... you could do a whole motor swap for that much, and for about the same price you can turbo what you got and have way more get up and go then another head, search around in other forums at this sight or at cb7tuner.com that f22a motor has a sh*t ton of potential. its got low compression and not having vtec doesnt mean you cant run with the big dogs, its a misconception. dont get me wrong, vtec is great... you just got a ton more options that'll leave some cash in ur pocket. please, search away....

    idk who told you this but there wrong... if you just bolt it on theres nothing to tell the vtec to activate.... i mean you could and it would work but it be pointless...
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2008
  7. CB792

    CB792 cb7 92

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    at home
    all i would need is a vtec ecu and the silonoid i do belive if im wrong correct me thanks
     
  8. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    You need an entire VTEC head, not just the solenoid, and then you'll also need to run wires from the head to the ECU in order for the VTEC to function. You can run the wires yourself or buy a pre-made harness...
     
  9. no name

    no name New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Location:
    wisconsin
    so will an h22 head actually bolt on to a f22a blockk? i was wondering that myself i wanted to put an h22 head ont the f22a block in my preludebeside wiring and ecu will it bolt on?
     
  10. D15Beater

    D15Beater HNFTuning

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Concord N.C.

    Not without modifications to the head and or block , I dont remeber which. You can do a H23 Dohc, or a F22b JDM dohc swap.

    CB7Tuner Forums - Search Results
     
  11. no name

    no name New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Location:
    wisconsin
    o ok.. so im better off boosting the f22 huh... it has a 9 to 5 to 1 compression.
    will i need different pistons? the whole motor has been rebuildt with forged rods and forges bolts. will it handle being boosted wiht thata high of comoresssion?
     
  12. D15Beater

    D15Beater HNFTuning

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Concord N.C.
    Try this first....F22a6 camshaft, H23 intake manifold, S2k throttle body, F22a4 header or aftermarket header. Exhaust and Intake. If its a five speed you can try either a H22 or H23 transmission, both have tighter gears than the accord. H22 being the tightest geared of the two. A Prelude ECU or accord Ex ECU can be used to run the IAB's in the intake manifold. That should be a good start for you.
     
  13. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Wow i cant follow that lol.

    Either turbo it, or swap a whole new engine.
     
  14. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Is the S2000 throttle body a complete bolt-on to the H23 intake manifold?
     
  15. zone90cb7lx

    zone90cb7lx just a noob...

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    So Cal
    yea thats a new one on me.... the other stuff was perfect though, thats verry simular to what im goin to be doing and should have done by the end of december....
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page