1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VTEC On a switch

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by skellagher, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. skellagher

    skellagher Elder Driver

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Newark, De
    ok so i have been having troubles with vtec engaging oil pressure is fine i swapped the ecu and still nothing also put my solenoid on a friends car worked fine so what i wanna do now is just put vtec on a switch so how would i go about it i have a d15b7 with the z6 head everything is wired properly and there is no CEL so all i really need to know is how do i wire it up so i can use the switch for it thats on my shift knob? please help.
     
  2. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    A VTEC switch on your shift knob?:huh:

    I'm not going to even TRY to field that side of the question. First of all, what ECU are you using?
     
  3. skellagher

    skellagher Elder Driver

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Newark, De
  4. skellagher

    skellagher Elder Driver

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Newark, De
    i just want it wired up so when i get above 4k i can hit the button on the b&m knob i got and with the 12 volts going strait to it, it should kick on
     
  5. austin20110

    austin20110 New Member

    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Va
    how do you know the vtec isnt engaging
     
  6. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Oh, I JUST re-re-read your post and figured out that you are asking, and correct me if I am wrong, to be able to control when your VTEC engages, correct? You could get a VTEC controller.
     
  7. skellagher

    skellagher Elder Driver

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Newark, De
    theres no change in the power trust me i have had a 97 ex i know what it feels and sounds like
     
  8. skellagher

    skellagher Elder Driver

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Newark, De
    i AM CHEAP ;) real low funds till after christmas
     
  9. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    The VTEC crossover should be seemless in a properly tuned engine from what I have learned.
     
  10. skellagher

    skellagher Elder Driver

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Newark, De
    i just wanna push a button whenever i need it for now until i can afford the apexi thing
     
  11. austin20110

    austin20110 New Member

    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Va
    ok mounting it on your shift knob probally isnt a good idea I'm going with luis on this one get a vtec controller and figure it out through that
     
  12. skellagher

    skellagher Elder Driver

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Newark, De
    there is a difference in sound though is what i was trying to say
     
  13. austin20110

    austin20110 New Member

    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Va
    well thats the technical term
     
  14. austin20110

    austin20110 New Member

    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Va
    but if your hell bent on ghetto rigging your car run a 12 volt switch from your solinoid, i guess, not a real common question

    but i would reccomend you save your money and do it right, before you mess something up
     
  15. skellagher

    skellagher Elder Driver

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Newark, De
    got ya i was just seeing if there was a cheap temp fix for it thank for your input
     
  16. stevennn09

    stevennn09 Member

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    word. you shouldnt be able to hear a sohc vtec. and 97 ex's dont have a vtec anything near a b series either. just run a pos wire from the silenoid to a light. like a christmas tree one or something like that. if it lights up around 4500 i beilve is when sohc vtecs engage, than your vtec is working
     
  17. GlassHeadlights

    GlassHeadlights West West Yall

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
  18. stevennn09

    stevennn09 Member

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    i think we all know what he wants. but i think he just doesnt think it's working.
     
  19. 94H_Ex

    94H_Ex Under employed

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    on a z6 head theres a plug for the oil chamber for VTEC, on the same side as the dizzy close the the vtec solenoid. you can pull that plug, T off your oil pressure sensor, and run a steel braided line to that port. it should improve your vtec if what i heard is correct. as your RPM goes up. it'll engage your secondary lopes.

    on other advise. maybe your ports for vtec are clogged. thous, low oil pressure to engage vtec. I know when you take the solenoids from the head, theres a gasket that has a some what filter on it. possibly it could be clogged. *On my 94 civic i had a p06 ecu and i ran a switch for my vtec*, it made no difference.

    * Ran the switch because i had a dx engine harness and the car came with a p75 ecu... such crap.
     
  20. skellagher

    skellagher Elder Driver

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Newark, De
    honestly all i want is just to know how to hook the switch up do i include both the oil pressure switch and solenoid or just the solenoid?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page