1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What do i need?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by Periculum, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. Periculum

    Periculum Senior Member

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    Martinez, GA
    What all would I need to obtain to put a d16a6 into a 91 CRX HF? Im assuming ECU and motor. Anything else, if I decide to keep the HF tranny? Im trying to replace the worn out motor I have and not kill the wallet right now. If there is a similar swap (as in ease of the swap) that has more power I'd love to know. Thanks
     
  2. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    motor & ecu
     
  3. ryan89crx

    ryan89crx Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    motor, ecu, hubs/knuckles, axles

    change to 88-91 dx or si hubs for the easiest swap, integra will work but there could be camber issues. dx or si will allow you to use you stock calipers and rotors - a big plus when money is an issue

    i did the same swap in my 89 hf, very easy.
     
  4. Periculum

    Periculum Senior Member

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    Martinez, GA
    Do i need the gauge cluster from an Si as well or will the HF cluster work?

    Changing the axles wouldnt be too bad for the wallet considering i was wanting to swap the back to discs anyway.
     
  5. ryan89crx

    ryan89crx Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    the hf cluster will work. mine worked fine, you will just bury the needle in the red when you redline it, haha.
     
  6. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,151
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    If he is keeping the hf tranny why would he have to switch axles?
    Go with the si tranny, it is well worth it over the hf tranny.
     
  7. ryan89crx

    ryan89crx Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State

    missed that, ya he said might be keeping it. if you stick with the hf tranny, no need to swap hubs/knuckles, thats only for tranny swap also
     
  8. Periculum

    Periculum Senior Member

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    Martinez, GA
    So If I go with the complete swap, including tranny, I would pretty much want to get everything from the wheels up, right?

    Would the HF tranny change anything such as the redline of the 1.6?, I know it will be higher than the 1.5. I wouldnt think so, but just makin sure.

    I know this may sound bad, but what does the ECU look like? I havent been this deep into cars before. She'll be my first.....
     
  9. ryan89crx

    ryan89crx Senior Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State

    if you go with the si tranny, like stated above, you will need dx or si hubs to fit your new axles. the hf tranny is extremely long geared, wont change your rev limit, but when you do redline it, you will probably be going 90 in second before you hit the rev limiter. not good when you're looking fo racceleration. your ecu is under the passenger carpet, beneath a big bronze looking cover. ecu looks something like this, not exactly, but close
    [​IMG]
     
  10. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    if you are using any 88-91 L3 transmission DX,Si,HF or STD, except for the JDM ZC, you can use your HF axles - only the outer CV joints are different on the CRX HF & STD Civic - inners are all the same
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX


    If you want something with more power, you could look into picking up a JDM DOHC ZC. They run about 130hp, and will just require you to swap the TPS wires (pretty sure). Other than that, it drops right in like the D16A6. You can get them for about $400 from HMotorsonline.
     
  12. projectxspeed

    projectxspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    I would look for an LS b18a/b. In the long run it would be your most economical + power choice
     
  13. racintweek

    racintweek Senior Member

    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Arlington VA



    you dont need to switch the wires , only if you are doing a DPFI to MPFI swap will you need to
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page