1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which ecu?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by crxracer29, Aug 26, 2003.

  1. crxracer29

    crxracer29 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    I would like to swap my stock ecu for a race one. I want it to be a direct plug in. Any suggestions. Its a turbo-charged single cam. I dont want to reprogram the stock one.
     
  2. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    Sorry, your out of luck unless you want a full stand alone system like Motec, SDS, AEM, etc......
     
  3. civicruleshatches

    civicruleshatches Junior Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    no man your not out of luck me and my boys recentally tried using a gsr ecu on his single turbo car and its works great i would suggest that. I have a skunk2 gsr ecu 2 my J-SPEC D16Z6 and its very strong. Good Luck man

    I Holla
     
  4. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    I wouldn't recommend what this guy has done, but hey, it's your car....


    BTW - Skunk2 doesn't make a GSR specific ecu.
     
  5. civicruleshatches

    civicruleshatches Junior Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002

    y?
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    because there is no j-spec D16Z6 in the first place

    trust all motor monster. he knows his ecu's
     
  7. civicruleshatches

    civicruleshatches Junior Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    well the hatch my boy bought was stolen in japan and shipped over here and the motor that was in it is in my hatch and srry 2 confuse u monster but i do have a gsr ecu to my single and its programed 2 skunk2 spec its not actually a ecu that skunk2 carries but all that matters is its very strong 4 what it is and runs very good!!!!! Sorry about the confusion :(

    I Holla
     
  8. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    That's all fine and dandy, I'm just letting you know the real deal.

    A GSR ecu although probably works on a SOHC VTEC, isn't really recommended due to different fuel and timing curves. Especially with Turbo.

    Skunk2 chips are just a ripoff of a Mugen variation dump and they don't control the secondary runners of a GSR engine. Now if you have a GSR engine and are using the single runner Skunk2 manifold, then the program you got is for a 1.6l DOHC VTEC engine in a P28 ecu, not a P72.

    Just a little FYI.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page