1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which ecu?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by gooose45, Sep 14, 2005.

  1. gooose45

    gooose45 Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    hey guys im doing a b16 swap from a 99si into my 96ex so far i got dc 4-1, skunk2 mani, aftrmrkt intke, and skunk2 exhst. i know i need to go obd1 and got the convr. harness. now, which ecu should i go with? p28 or p30? chipped? what program is best? not really planning on going turbo or nos maybe internal work latr. also a buddy told me that if im going to go obd1 that i need to change to an obd1 distributor, is this true? please help, planning on doing the swap in 2-3weeks
     
  2. 97CTR

    97CTR Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    A 96 ex is obd2 you have an obd2 motor use an obd2 ecu. Unless you want to change to obd1 for tuning. You don't need an obd1 distributor with a conversion harness.
     
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i have an OBD1 pr3 if you need one
     
  4. gooose45

    gooose45 Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004

    ok great, so which should i go with p28 or p30? dont know much about the pr3, but i do want to buy a ecu that is already chipped.
     
  5. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    if its chipped, don't bother with a p30. get the p28.

    i have a bin for a similar setup if you want a chip for it, pm me. vtecin5th can vouch for the program in his b16
     
  6. gooose45

    gooose45 Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004

    i just bought a p28 on ebay does anyone know where i can get it socketed in the southern cali area????
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    10.Vernon Brunges @ RaVer Motorsports
    Visalia, Cali (Central Valley)
    Horiba and TechEdge WBO2, Datalogging cables, Romulator, Mac scantool for waveform diagnostics, ChipMax burner, Hakko desoldering station, BluePoint soldering station, access to new local Mustang dyno 3/05, etc
    pgmfi pm or (559)733-4711


    24. Mike Hamen
    ISTS
    www.rwdcrx.com
    Northridge, Ca (San Fernando Valley, in La County)
    Access to DynoJet with affordable rates(Has Wideband o2 reader)
    818-468-3518/HardcoreRsxS@aol.com


    those are your closest two friendly chippers.
    there;s plenty more in other areas.
     
  8. kyleirwin

    kyleirwin Retired OG

    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    Vegas
    if you're around SD county, i can chip it for you. i've got the parts. i could show you a couple things and answer any questions you've got too.
     
  9. gooose45

    gooose45 Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004

    thanx guys i got ahold of mike hamen and he'll doit, man, he's only bout 5 min. from my pad, anywayz i got the virgen p28 and the obd2-obd1 harness but the 3 plugs that go into the (stock)harness all fit and the 3 plugs from the conversion harness to the ecu only 2 plugs fit, is this right or do i have the wrong ecu or the wrong harness ? can someone confirm this, please? :huh:
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  11. gooose45

    gooose45 Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004

    wait, the 3 plugs from the conv. harness fit into the p28 but the female end only takes 2 plugs from the stock harness.
    then i tried connecting the stock p2t(99si) to the stock harness and only two plugs fitinto that one. whats the deal? is this normal :worthy: sorry for the mix up but disregard the last post it was the other way around.
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    yea, sounds like you got the wrong obd version... call the company you got it from.

    99si is obd2b
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page