1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which headgasket?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by INJEN78, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    i have to replace the headgasket in my d16z6..
    so im either using oem z6 or oem y8..now ive heard about the y8 2layer..
    is this basically i would get a y8 gasket and pull the middle layer out myself or do they come premade like that??
    also can i do as previously mentioned with a z6 headgasket?
    basically im looking to upgrade while its apart..
    no im not going with cometic or anything other than oem
     
  2. 78civic

    78civic Junior Member

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    NW MS, Y'all
    I'm thinking of using this one I found on Ebay.

    [​IMG]


    Please PM me, I need some info on a head. Thanks



    E
     
  3. 78civic

    78civic Junior Member

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    NW MS, Y'all
    I'll try it this way.
    [​IMG]


    E
     
  4. 78civic

    78civic Junior Member

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    NW MS, Y'all
  5. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    OEM. I havent had luck with the fiber HGs.
     
  6. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    well i go through jis for all my headgaskets..ive used many of them an never had a problem.. im just rlly trying to figure out which one..
    z6,y8,or y8 2 layer..and how is the 2 layer done??
     
  7. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Z6, sorry forgot thta part.
     
  8. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    with the 3 layer y8 it bumps compression a little bit though..
    everything is the same except for thickness..so i figure i have to replace it anyway why not make some power from doing so..
    and if i went with the y8 2 layer itll bump even more.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page