1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Word to the wise...

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by reckedracing, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    so not sure how many people on here use autozone.com's repair section but i tend to use it a lot for random refrence materials...

    i have a 91 hatch with a z6 that i was wiring up this weekend, so i went to autozone.com and printed out a pic of the ecu wiring...

    well, what i found out is that auto zone's info is off, or inaccurate, in the following way

    most honda people use the plug numbering as follows...
    obd1 A plug has 26 pinouts...

    25 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 3 1
    26 24 22 20 18 16 14 12 10 8 6 4 2

    well when i refrenced auto zone it said the vtec solonoid goes to pin A15 and the vtec oil pressure goes to pin D14

    the proper wiring is A4 and D6

    so autozone's pinouts use the following system

    13 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
    26 25 24 23 22 21 20 19 18 17 16 15 14

    so autozone's A15 is honda's A4
    and autozone's D14 is honda D6...

    so if you ever refrence directly to the wiring diagrams keep this in mind...

    i could not for the life of me figure out why the pinouts i needed to use already had wires in them...

    so i ended up getting my hatch to run with no check engine lights, no road test yet as i finished up the wiring late last night..
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    its actually:

    1 3 5
    2 4 6

    and so on...
     
  3. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    my "diagram" would be if you were looking at the plug end that goes into the ecu...
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    maybe if you have x-ray visiion looking through the engine bay through the firewall and on to the plugged in and mounted ECU :p

    if you unblot it and flip it around, its like how i said.
     
  5. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    eh, you know what i mean...

    i look at the plug where the ecu pins go in... count my pinouts then count how many across it is... then flip the plug and insert the wire, or whatever...

    to each their own, but point of the thread is...

    autozone uses a diffrent numbering method so keep that in mind so you don't drive your self crazy wondering why you've got codes 21 and 22
    lol

    and if the second to the last digit on the ecu number is a 5 you are going to get code 19 unless you;re got the auto lock up solonoid...
    lol
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Aside from renting random tools, Autozone sucks.
     
  7. Slo86GT

    Slo86GT Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Memphis - Hellhole of the South
  8. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003


    PHiZ and I went through this a long time ago... You are right for the pinouts on OBD1... OBD2 Pinouts are 123456 across...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page