Building a B18B for boost

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Also seeing as though this is my first build, if there are any other threads you think may be beneficial to me then please send them my way ;D

R u building da block??? Reliability starts from there especially when u gonna beat on it...forge pistons and rods are cheap insurance, sleeve not necessary for your HP.. what cams u using?

Ok, I have just found someone here locally selling Mahle 9.0:1 Pistons with Eagle H Beam Rods for $350. Are Mahle good? Should I jump on it?

mahle is great stuff.

see if you can barter with the seller and allow him/her to let you take the pistons and rods to be checked over by a machine shop.

if they were used in a build that came apart, or spun a bearing, metal shavings could be embedded in the piston, and could actually scar up your cylinder walls. That, and have them check that everything is true and on weight, it'd be worth your $$$ if they are in usable shape.

if you have the money get the walls sleeved!!! cant stress it enough. block guard is waste of money.
to hit 300 -350 you need a good turbo at about 15 psi you'll get it.

really? you are the first to say that I need the block sleeved on this forum and another that I have. Will the block really not be able to handle 300-350Hp? If I get the block sleeved then I'll be damned if I stop at 15hp and/or 350Hp.

Last edited:
im running 320whp on stock sleeves just fine. and thats a very moderate tune compared to what the car will see..

I know I sound remedial but how can I tell which tranny I have? I know that its an early b16 tranny but Im not sure which.