1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

77 Civic Swap - CVCC to D16A1

Discussion in 'Auto Multi-Media' started by JC777, Jun 4, 2018.

  1. JC777

    JC777 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    Bend, Or
    If I can use my buddies flat bed to haul off the acura tomorrow, I might just push the honda in and start on it. Providing I can even get it loaded by myself lol
     
    TurboMirage likes this.
  2. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,495
    Likes Received:
    310
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    NJ to MA to CA
    I loaded a 3rd gen Integra (1996) with no motor onto and off of a trailer by myself a few weeks ago. 1st gen should be even lighter. Just have some common sense and you should be fine.
     
    dilbeckskate likes this.
  3. JC777

    JC777 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    Bend, Or
    I actually went with the suggestion TurboMirage gave me. Left the rear tires on, hoisted the front end with the cherry picker and used ratchet straps as a winch and pulled it right up the ramps onto the trailer. Took all of 30 mins and I was off to the scrap yard.
    Now just gotta clean up the shop floor.
    Gunna do a brake job on my f250 when the pads get here then get the civic in and start shoehorning the motor in!
    Im pumped and cant wait to get this thing going.
     
  4. JC777

    JC777 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    Bend, Or
    Update.
    Did a quick degrease on the 1/2" of oil caked dirt.
    IMG_20180612_184134.jpg

    Test fit to assess what all needed trimmed.
    IMG_20180612_212741.jpg IMG_20180612_212754.jpg

    Cut away mounts, frame rails and anything else in the way.
    IMG_20180617_124717.jpg IMG_20180617_124722.jpg IMG_20180617_124740.jpg

    Retest fit the motor to find I trimmed more than enough on my first shot.
    IMG_20180617_165146.jpg

    Started motor mounts on the 4th and got them all tacked in place supporting the motor today. One on the firewall, one on the trasmission and two on the driverside of the motor.
    IMG_20180705_173806.jpg IMG_20180705_173812.jpg IMG_20180705_173745.jpg IMG_20180705_200706.jpg
     
    dilbeckskate and E_SolSi like this.
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    25,227
    Likes Received:
    999
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  6. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    447
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    ahhhhh tbh the whole swap is high in the bay, alot of people make a mount that drops down for the CG Trans - if you want to get a better idea of where the engine sits in the bay put axles in the trans and look at the angle on them , interested to see what you will come up with for the drivers side mount :) id do a basic dogbone mount for the front to the crossmember
     
  7. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    447
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    your welds look great btw
     
  8. JC777

    JC777 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    Bend, Or
    Thanks, I am pleased with my little welders capabilities especially since I only pick up the gun once or twice a year.
    Now im beating myself up cuz I meant to check height before tacking the mounts in but got too gung-ho and may have over estimated how much the suspension will compress when back on the ground with motor weight.
    Ill slide an axle in tonight and put weight on the suspension and see where it sets.
    How close does it truely need to be? Can it be off by an inch or two?
    BTW, thanks for the input/advise
     
  9. JC777

    JC777 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    Bend, Or
    Well thats disappointing... Cant believe I didnt pay more attention the the height of the motor...
    Im only roughly 3" too high.
    Guess ill be starting over. Better to catch it early on tho. Thanks for pointing it out dilbeckskate.
     
    TurboMirage likes this.
  10. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    447
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    No problem man I was hoping I didnt come off sounding like a dick but I would rather that than you fab the engine in and it is wayy too high and axles at a crazy angle etc, the intake manifold should sit ABOUT FLUSH with that lip a few inches below the hood latch , sometimes requires trimming and some people get away without it
     
  11. JC777

    JC777 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    Bend, Or
    Last night got all the mounts out and lowered the motor. I double check the height this time and it looks alot better!
    IMG_20180708_112048.jpg

    Gunna see how far I get on redoing the mounts today
     
    TurboMirage likes this.
  12. JC777

    JC777 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    Bend, Or
    Got 3 of the 4 motor mounts rebuilt and tacked in. The forth (trans mount) i just tacked directly to the body until I make the front crossmember and then ill finish that mount. But take a look and PLEASE dont tell me i did anything wrong Lol. Jk, but seriously...
    IMG_20180708_182608.jpg IMG_20180708_182622.jpg
     
  13. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    447
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
  14. JC777

    JC777 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    Bend, Or
    Was just looking at the pedal assembly.
    Looks like its gunna be fun...
    Thinking ill have to hack up the acura pedal assembly and replace the civics throttle pedal and modify the brake pedal to get the clutch pedal to fit. all while working around the steering joints that are directly in the way.
    If anyone has any suggestions, Im all ears since ive never tackled a project like this.
     
  15. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    447
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    lol I forgot about the pedal assembly, IIRC can make alot of the OE stuff work, the clutch cable is reusable and throttle cable IIRC
     
  16. JC777

    JC777 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Location:
    Bend, Or
    Right again.
    Hacked up the acuras clutch and brake pedal assembly and got it installed. IMG_20180714_120856.jpg
    Also shortened linkages.
    I couldnt believe that the cvcc exhaust hanger bracket is the same design as the stick linkage. Made the job pretty easy.
    IMG_20180714_221010.jpg
    I think next is wiring or radiator.
    Im not sure if either factory radiator will work. Any info would be apreciated.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2018
    dilbeckskate likes this.
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page