1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

90 non v tech to v tech

Discussion in 'Accord' started by need2bfaster, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. need2bfaster

    need2bfaster New Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    pa
    i have a 90 accord and want to put the 97 v tech head on it what work will i need done to the ecu to make it run correct
     
  2. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    V-Tech is a company that makes phones and electronic children's toys; Hondas have VTEC, get it right.

    That being said, the easiest way to do it is to just use the ECU from a VTEC Accord, preferably an OBD1 ECU. That way, all you'll have to do is run some wires for VTEC and you'll be good to go.

    I'm not sure if Accord ECUs can be chipped or not. I'm guessing probably not, since the Prelude one's can't. If it turns out that they can though, then that's another option, send your ECU out to be chipped for your new setup.

    I guess you could also run a VTEC controller, although I'd prefer to just have an appropriate ECU to run everything.
     
  3. need2bfaster

    need2bfaster New Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    pa
    allright now how do i go from obd0 to obd1 ??
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Ah, your car is OBD0, I was thinking it's OBD1. I would contact Rywire. They make custom wiring harnesses for Honda engine swaps. I would explain to them what you're wanting to do, and see what they say is the best way to go about it. I'm not exactly sure what the best option is for you.

    Rywire - Online Store
     
  5. blackice90HB

    blackice90HB Senior Member

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Rywire - Online Store

    +P28 chipped to run VTEC F-series

    compare schematics, cut/move wires as needed


    if your asking questions like these then dont attempt this swap. You're risking screwing up your daily driver by doing a mod that your clearly not able to perform for a measly 10 max more hp. If anything you would try and run something pre 96 for the sake of being OBD1, hell h-series heads fit on F series blocks.
     
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    :werd: on that!

    I've always honestly thought that swapping the single-cam VTEC Accord head isn't really worth it. Unless you're getting the head and ECU for dirt cheap then you might as well just swap an entire motor for your trouble.
     
  7. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    Definitely not worth it unless the parts are practically free like you said. You can drop an H22a in there for under $1400 that will make a ton more power than any kind of head swap you can think of.
     
  8. need2bfaster

    need2bfaster New Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    pa
    arent h series dohc ??
     
  9. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Yes, but the H-Series and F-Series are related, you can interchange parts between the two. And just because one motor is dual cam and the other is single cam doesn't mean you can't swap heads between the two.

    Honestly though, I'd rather swap a whole H22 than do the head swap onto an F22, just for reliability's sake.
     
  10. need2bfaster

    need2bfaster New Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    pa
    agreed on the swap but right nowi dont have the funds to do so so im trying to do what will improve it little by little
     
  11. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    save your money and little by little you will have enough for a swap
     
  12. Prophit132

    Prophit132 First Time Builder

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Binghamton, N.Y.
    Lots of h22's are available online even cheap ass ones on e bay if your on a tight budget. personally I would rather have a fresh 30 to 45 k JDM. But your ride your decision.
     
  13. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    That doesn't really make sense. Why spend any of your money to do something that isn't really what you want? Just save it towards an H22 swap.
     
  14. need2bfaster

    need2bfaster New Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    pa
    ok every one well thanx and as for the ebay h22 id much rather go with the jdm 30 45 k are the b16 worth looking into or go right to h22
     
  15. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    no b16, you definitely want the h22 for your accord
     
  16. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
  17. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    The H22 and the F22 are related, so an H22 is a much easier swap. You can drop it right in, wire up VTEC, and you're good to go. You can even re-use your Accord's transmission, although the gear ratios suck compared to the H22 tranny.

    A B16 in an Accord is not worth the trouble. You'd have to fab up custom mounts, and you'd have to for sure use a B-Series transmission. You can't bolt it up to your Accord tranny like you can with the H22.

    Also, look at the numbers the B16 puts down. Yes, it makes 160 horse, which is more than your F22, but it also makes significantly LESS torque than your F22. The Accord is heavier than a Civic. It needs that extra torque to get it moving.

    The H22 is the obvious choice here.
     
  18. need2bfaster

    need2bfaster New Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    pa
    thanks i didnt knonw that the h22 and f22 mounts were the same that helps out alot would i be able to use a tranny from an early mode prelude like early 90 or late 80s
     
  19. need2bfaster

    need2bfaster New Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    pa
    or what do u think about a turbo i have stock pistons though
     
  20. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Any Prelude transmission older than 92 won't work. Those older Preludes used a wierd version of the B20 that isn't compatable with much of anything. Any F22 or H22/H23 transmission would work, although I'd recommend using the tranny that goes with whatever motor you end up using as it will make the most of the engine's powerband.

    As far as turbo goes, you can turbo on a stock H22, but I'd advise you to keep the boost low and make sure it's tuned really well. If you want to run a lot of boost you should probably sleave the block and invest in some aftermarket internals.

    Actually, the F22 has a closed deck and iron sleeves from the factory, so it's not a bad candidate for boost in stock form if that's the route you're wanting to go.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page