1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

93 cx need help running way too rich

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by pappaj, Jun 6, 2009.

  1. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    I just picked up a 93 hatch for my girlfriend, it failed the etest horribly, was running way too rich. The guy I bought it from said you only need a new cat and it will pass. I changed the cat, injectors, fpr. The car still failed horribly, I started reading and every where I look it says the 92-95 cx model has a 1 wire o2 sensor, but my car has a 4 wire. I'm thinking motor was swapped at one point a 4 wire was put in, then stock motor/ecu was put back in and ecu is not hooked up right for the 4 wire. I don't know, but I can't afford to change everything on it to figure it out. Could I possibly just change ecu with another model? Any help appreciated..
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    best thing to do is put it back stock what ecu are you using and yes it should have a 1 wire 02 sensor
     
  3. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    I just looked it is p06.
     
  4. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    what ecu should it have?
     
  5. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
  6. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    that is what I thought. The motor has the right harness for a 4 wire 02. It doesn't look like it has been hacked into. The o2 sensor wires have been spliced together between plug and sensor. from the plug it has grn, 2 blks, and a wht. sensor side has 2blk, wht, and a blue. I read that one of the blacks is for a heater and if you switch the blacks the car will not run right a all, I tried switching them and it made no difference. Is there another model with a 1.5 and a 4 wire o2 that I can use the ecu for, or will I have to get the cx engine harness and a p05
     
  7. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well if it was run right the p06 and 4 wire should still be fine, it sounds like something is up with the sensor and wiring to me, are you getting any check engine codes
     
  8. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    not at all, the car actually feels like it runs ok. I don't really want to buy a new o2 unless I have to.
     
  9. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well that combo might be choking the little motor to death, so you might have to swap it all back,
     
  10. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    which car is the p06 for? I am thinking of running to the junkyard and grabbing the engine harness and the o2, and ecu from a cx, that sounds like the best bet. They will probably rape me on the cost for that I'm sure.
     
  11. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    Is that all I would have to do. Change engine harness ecu and o2, assuming nothing else silly was done to it.
     
  12. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    the p06 came in the 4 wire civic like the lx. and yeah if you get the cx harness and ecu it should all be plug and play, but im wondering why they changed it in the first place. you might want to go look and see what motor it is you have first.
     
  13. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    it is the d15b7 stock from what I understand. I don't understand this either, there is no obvious sign of the motor even being removed. The guy I bought it from won't tell me nothing, I'm considering violating his grandma I am so pissed.
     
  14. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    thats not stock the b7 was a dx motor thats why it has the dx harness and ecu. the cx came stock with the d15b8. at this point im gonna have to brain storm a bit on what you should do
     
    1 person likes this.
  15. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    ok, and thanks for helping. It is appreciated.
     
  16. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    maybe if its a hack job a new dx /lx wouldnt hurt i just hate for you to be out more money and it not fix the problem
     
  17. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    oh and I did just put cx injectors and fpr on it if that matters.
     
  18. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    what do you mean a new dx/lx motor? Or the o2
     
  19. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    harness
     
  20. pappaj

    pappaj New Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    woodstock
    the harness looks ok the only spot that was hacked is on the o2 sensor wires, which would be gone if o2 was replaced. Would the stock ecu plug possibly be missing some wires for the 4 wire o2 or are they all there and once you change the engine harness it should be good to go. How would you differentiate the two black wires on the o2. I tried them hooked up both ways and turned the car on to see if it got warm and it didn't in either configuration.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page