1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

another ??? for air fuel guage needing quick responce

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by crazymark01, Jul 12, 2007.

  1. crazymark01

    crazymark01 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    what wire do i splice the purple wire on the guage so that i can get a good reading for the air/fuel guage??? any quick responces would be great im installing it as i type. thanks
     
  2. humblegumbo

    humblegumbo 1595cc's of Mad Fury

    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    If you haven't already figured it out for yourself... more information is really required for anyone else to answer your question.

    It could be for power or signal depending on the make.
    Also, it would probably be way faster for you to search Google yourself.
     
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    in order to get a good reading you'll need a wideband O2
     
  4. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    It should be the white or blue wire on the O2 sensor. If you goto plxdevices.com they have ECU pinouts for some Honda's, you can find the exact wire you need and tap into it inside the car :)
     
  5. crazymark01

    crazymark01 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    sorry i have a 89 crx si with the d16a6 motor in it.
     
  6. humblegumbo

    humblegumbo 1595cc's of Mad Fury

    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    What kind of air/fuel gauge?
     
  7. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    sounds like autometer, they have a purple signal wire :)

    Edit: I cant find a pinout for that old of a car :lol: Worse comes to worse you can run a wire out into the engine bay and tap into the O2 right at the O2. Check the white or blue wire with an ohmeter, it should be around .5v with the car idling. It will also toggle between 0 and .5 or higher.
     
  8. crazymark01

    crazymark01 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
  9. humblegumbo

    humblegumbo 1595cc's of Mad Fury

    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    So there should be three wires to hook up.

    Red = Power
    Black = Ground
    Purple = O2 Signal

    The wire from my O2 sensor is blue...very easy to find because there is only one wire coming out of the sensor. Where it goes from there, I'm not 100% sure, but you could trace it.

    Edit:
    Found wiring diagram for d16a6 ECU.
    http://www.autozone.com/images/cds/gif/large/0900823d80141ec1.gif

    Looks like O2 sensor goes in at C16.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2007
  10. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    on the D16A6 engine, the OEM O2 sensor has a black wire which plugs into a connector down by the transmission - from that connector to the ECU, the wire is a shielded, is white in color and goes to ECU pin C16
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page