1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16 no ground for injectors

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by 91_stylin_civic, Sep 12, 2009.

  1. 91_stylin_civic

    91_stylin_civic Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I have a b16 converted to obd 1. The car does not start but it cranks over. I checked spark and it was good. I checked to see if i had fuel pressure and i do 26psi. I checked power and ground for the injectors. I have power but i have no ground. The ground for the injectors is through the ecu if i am not mistaking. So which means i need a ecu correct? The ecu do not have a label on it but i took the cover off the ecu PR3(which confused me cause i thought the PR3 was an obd0 ecu). Can someone help me out here or let me know if i am missing something. Thanks
     
  2. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    there are obd0 and obd1 pr3's.

    you're not seeing ground at the injectors because the only time you would see ground is when the injector is firing. so unless the car was running you're not going to see squat from a multimeter.

    any codes? how sure are you that the timing and firing order is correct?
     
  3. 91_stylin_civic

    91_stylin_civic Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I checked timing and my firing order again. Its good, I also just replaced the dizzy for a code 9. I put the new dizzy on and i have this crank no start problem. Car ran before but was falling on its face.
     
  4. geedog66

    geedog66 New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    sounds like a computer to me... have you tried using a noid light to see if the injectors are firing?
     
  5. 91_stylin_civic

    91_stylin_civic Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
  6. geedog66

    geedog66 New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    test light wont work... if you had another computer i would try it
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. 91_stylin_civic

    91_stylin_civic Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i dont have another ecu to try but im going to see if someone at work has a noid light that will work. I have no luck with either car this past week. The fuel pump went in my other hatch and its a walbro that is just over a yr old
     
  8. 91_stylin_civic

    91_stylin_civic Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    tested with noid light-got one or two blinks in about 15 seconds of cranking. I need an ecu this sux. Thanks for the help
     
  9. 91_stylin_civic

    91_stylin_civic Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    replaced ecu and still have a crank no start. I am kinda lost right now. I have fuel pressure,spark,correct firing order. Can anyone help me out. Thanks
     
  10. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    is it flooding? any other discrepancies you forget to mention? intake it clear and open? everything is hooked up properly? any other cels showing? we may need some more info...
     
  11. 91_stylin_civic

    91_stylin_civic Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    no other codes, I am going to take the plugs out and check them. I put a clutch and flywheel in the car. Started it up cel 9 ran light crap, replace dizzy,now i have a crank no start, checked to see if the injectors were firing with a noid light and i had no pulse, replaced ecu with a new one, same concern. I didnt check to see if i have injector pulse yet i do not have the noid light at my house its at work.
     
  12. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    Where did you get your dizzy from? I would suspect a bad dizzy or maybe a wire got pinched between the motor and trans when you did the clutch? also check your grounds.
     
  13. 91_stylin_civic

    91_stylin_civic Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I started the car after I did the clutch. I got the dizzy from distributor kings I put the old dizzy back in and it doesn't start. The car is wired for obd 1 but it has a resister box in it and for obd 1 you do not need the box or am I wrong.
     
  14. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    do you have obd 0 or obd 1 injectors? If you have obd 1 injectors remove the resister box. If you have the obd 1 injectors leave it alone.
     
  15. 91_stylin_civic

    91_stylin_civic Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I believe they are obd 0 injectors. Friday i am going to check the grounds again. But the part that confuses me is that was running after i did the clutch i just had a code 9 ran like crap, I parked the car put the new dizzy in. Crank no start. My next step is to open the harness up and check to make sure all the wires are good, maybe something chewed through a harness. This sucks!!!
     
  16. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    Ohm test the wires from the ecu plug to the Dizzy plug. It sounds like you may have a bad dizzy out of the box.
     
  17. 91_stylin_civic

    91_stylin_civic Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    ohms tested wires to the dizzy plug, got .2-.3 ohms. Is there a way check the sensors in the dizzy?
     
  18. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    you can ohm check the sensors in the dizzy. Check them out and post the numbers. I will have to search around my alldata and find the proper specs.
     
  19. 91_stylin_civic

    91_stylin_civic Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cool thanks. I should have them up tomorrow. I wish i had alldata at my dealership but since its a dealership they dont think we should have it.
     
  20. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    what kind of dealer do you work for?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page