1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b16 no vtec HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Integra' started by mister_m_83, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. mister_m_83

    mister_m_83 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Lakeville MN
    I have posted this on here before and nothing helped and im sick of not having vtec!! Ok first off its a 90 integra 4 door and i put my b16 from my 91 civic hatch in it. In the civic everything worked great!!! Now... I used the stock harness from the integra and ran the vtec wire, the pressure switch wire, the knock sensor wire and the second o2 wire. But I used the stock manifold off the integra so it only has one o2 sensor (First problem)... I dont get vtec!!!! (second problem) I have gone through the wiring like 5 times now and still nothing. I have checked the solenoid to see if it works and checked the screen. Both fine. Its an obd0 pw0 and I have NO codes and i even tried my friends ecu. it idles high (third problem) I think i might know what that is but it has 2 solenoids on the firewall maybe someone could help me with that. Do i just T the two together or cap one of them off? My idle screw is turned all the way in and it still idles at 1500-1800 or so.. PLEASE CAN SOMEONE HELP ME?
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2009
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    check your oil level. and does your speedometer work
     
  3. mister_m_83

    mister_m_83 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Lakeville MN
    yes and yes and my temp sensor works too
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    im gonna have to brain storm on this one a bit
     
  5. boostin4fun

    boostin4fun Boosted ls/vtec ohh yeah!

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha
    The solenoids on the firewall are actually the purge solenoids for the evap system, they would not be the cause of your problem.
     
  6. epmex

    epmex New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    my vtec does not hit anymore either i have i b18c and it used hit at 5500 and know it hit at 7 something :( wtf
     
  7. mister_m_83

    mister_m_83 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Lakeville MN
    A guy that i work with told me that it might be my temp sensor... He said that it might be causing it to run not with a closed loop circuit? Hence the reason my fan doesnt kick on and no o2 sensor codes? Anyone???
     
  8. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    a 02 sensor would throw a code
     
  9. mister_m_83

    mister_m_83 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Lakeville MN
    my o2 sensors are both unpluged and i get no codes and i also know its not my ecu cause i used my friends and still i get the same results
     
  10. civicsiserge

    civicsiserge New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    Did you check your oil level? The vtec solenoid lets oil pressure through to the pistons in the intake rocker arms...and if you don't have oil pressure you don't have vtec.
     
  11. civicsiserge

    civicsiserge New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    Did you check your oil level? The vtec solenoid lets oil pressure through to the pistons in the intake rocker arms...and if you don't have oil pressure you don't have vtec.
     
  12. mister_m_83

    mister_m_83 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Lakeville MN
  13. Ethan

    Ethan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    98
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    He already said he checked his oil. and that would be a double post... n00b
     
  14. superlude1996

    superlude1996 New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    What would the speedo do for vtec not working?
     
  15. mister_m_83

    mister_m_83 New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Lakeville MN
    if you dont have your speedo hooked up your vtec wont work because you have to be going faster than 20mph (I think) and that is read by your ecu
     
  16. 97b16a

    97b16a New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    hey guys can anybody help me? my vtec does work on my jdm b16a but it does I don't think is working how it supposed to work, i mean when it hits(vtec) it does not feel like it and you realy, realy have to pay attention to hear when it hits other wise you won't even know that its hitting vtec, can any body let me know what to check, I am a noob at this.

    thanks
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page