1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d15b wiring into a 92 eg lx

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by joshuaclifton, Mar 9, 2008.

  1. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
    i put a d15b vtec motor into my 92 civic lx but even with the ecu chipped, vtec wires hooked up correctly, and motor running perfect, it wont rev passed 4800 rpm. any ideas?!!!!!!!!!!! help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2008
  2. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Any codes? Sounds like it may be in limp mode.
     
  3. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
    it throws a vtec selinoid code but it didnt do it when i had the z6 in there. i dont know. its a headache
     
  4. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
    could it be that because the d15b has two stage vtec?!
     
  5. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    96-00 D15B's are two stage, 92-95 have the same head as D16Z6 and are plain VTEC.

    If you used a 3-Stage VTEC ECU, then yea it would throw a code for the unhooked solenoid, but if you are using a P08 or P28, it wouldn't.
     
  6. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
    no they dont. the head internals on the d15b head look nothing like the z6 head. thr head code on the d15b is '96' but they are different
     
  7. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
    ive got a po6 chipped to a p28
     
  8. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    What ECU are you using? The LX/P06? If so, was the VTEC transistor even installed?

    edit: Ok if it was a P06; check to see if there's even a VTEC transistor. A P28/converted P06 would not throw a code for a 3-stage VTEC head...but a 3-stage ECU will throw a code for a regular VTEC head.
     
  9. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
    everything was added and tuned correctly
     
  10. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    In that case; just test your solenoid via Helms manual.

    Also, check all grounds.
     
  11. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
    i hooked up everything exactly the way it was with the z6 in. its actually a common problem but noone knows how to figure it out
     
  12. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    See if you can borrow someone's P28 and test it out.

    I've had an issue where it wouldn't rev pass 4000rpms after installing a chip; problem persisted even after removing the chip(original setup was Ostrich with P28, then I just got a chipped burned for me); running in limp mode.
    Swapped the P28 for a P05(non-VTEC CX ECU), and it revved fine and accelerated better for daily driving.

    What baffles me is, that same P28 that was running limp mode for me, worked fine in a stock 93 EX.
     
  13. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
    my buddy has a p28 so ill ask him. but my ecu worked fine with the z6 before it was chipped. i had it chipped after i put the d15b in but it still wouldnt rev past 4800 before it was chipped
     
  14. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    So the Z6 was able to rev pass 4800rpm or no?

    Also, have you checked all grounds? A bad ground can cause the ECU to run in limp mode.
     
  15. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
    yeah it did. thats what i cant understand
     
  16. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
  17. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Just swap in another ECU, and if that doesn't work; go through the entire wiring.
     
  18. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
    i just tested the p28 and it worked fine. is there any way i can around that to make the po6 work right
     
  19. joshuaclifton

    joshuaclifton New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    west chester ohio
    with stock p28 it still wouldnt rev past 4800. i dont get it!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page