1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ek swaps

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 96civyhb, Apr 28, 2004.

  1. 96civyhb

    96civyhb Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    I seem to be able to finds tons of info on swaps in EGs but not much on eks. I tried to search for this and Im sure it has been answered before. I looked through the tech info on this site and did a search in the newbies area. I am going to swap a b16a2 into my car. I have a 96 civic hatch back with 2000 front end conversion. WOuld this be a cable tranny or hydro? Its a DX 5 speed. What will I need to do to make this swap happen. I have the following : b16a2 motor, tranny axles, ecu and a cut wiring harness. Some moron decided to cut it right before the cabin entrance. So what else do I need?? Mounts(what kind), linkage? how to make the harness work or do I need to buy a new one and if so for what car??


    Also I want to know if an ex motor would be a simler swap? I could do that to hold me over for a few months if I need to. My dx motor is blown and I want have it drivable in a week or so. I have a friend who will let me have an ex motor. How hard will it be to swap it into a 96. I think cant remember what kind of car it came out of but he had it in an eg hatch.
     
  2. complicity

    complicity Senior Member

    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Location:
    Jersey
    Your tranny is hydraulic, as is the one you want to swap (the one for the b16a2).

    I think you can use any Bseries mounts (i am NOT sure, though), or a HASPORT mount kit.

    There's most of the info right here...

    http://www.hondaswap.com/forums/index.php?c=8

    Try going through it again :)
     
  3. 96civyhb

    96civyhb Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    But how about the ex? Would that be an easier swap??
     
  4. momo-gofer

    momo-gofer Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Yes it would be...all u need is an EX head, EX ecu, v-tec wiring, and the EX cluster.
     
  5. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    An EX car, or a EX motor? And if you have the B16A motor, why would you go with a EX motor instead? BUt either way, a EX motor isn't going to be that much easier than a B series.
     
  6. 96civyhb

    96civyhb Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Ok guys thanks for the info. One of these days Ill swap a b18c but until then I think Ill keep the stock motor, well actually replace it with a stock one because the motor wont hold compression. i cant figure out why.
     
  7. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    V-TEC OWNZ J00!!!!!!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page