1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this an Auto or 5speed ECU?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by TurboRex90, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    I have a spare ECU laying around, it has been socketed with i dont know what kind of chip is in it, When i looked up the code online, it says its an Auto.. but why chip an Auto ECU?


    heres the code:

    37820-PR4-A53
    431-144782 AD


    I just was gonna try and sell it, and didnt wanna sell someone the wrong thing.

    Thanks to anyone who can help.

    P.S if anyone is interested, PM an offer.
     
  2. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Auto ECU is pretty much the same as a manual ECU except that it looks for a lock-up solenoid. There's a "table of resistors" and by removing and jumping resistors, you've essentially created a manual ECU.
     
  3. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    Im no expert in that kind of stuff.. So i have no idea if its been converted or not... :/
     
  4. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    It wouldn't matter; if it's an unconverted auto ECU, it'll just throw a CEL for the missing solenoid...doesn't affect performance.
     
  5. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    Well im trying to sell it, i just wanna be able to list it as the correct ECU.. thats all.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page