1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My CPU is FUCKED!!!

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by endlesszeal, Sep 18, 2003.

  1. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    hey guys, since i kno there are a couple of computer wizzes here i just wanted to ask, what the fuck is wrong with my computer???? i turned it on and it said, " Windows was shut down imporerly, please allow disk scan, etc...." so i decided to let it do its thing and it took like 1/2 hr.. after that, i came back and the whole screen was blank.. my computer light was flashing green periodically, so i held the power button down and it turned off.. now i cant even turn it back on.. it wont even power up.. i checked all the connections and i pulled and replugged everything and it still wont boot up.. its a AMD 2200+, 512DDRAM, and Windows XP Pro (with all the updates).. if someone PLEASE help, id be very grateful.. btw, im at my gfs house posting this because my computer is so messed up.. its bascially a piece of junk right now that cant even turn on..
     
  2. swanny

    swanny Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Location:
    buck teeth and government checks, PA
    my laptop has the same damn thing. (im on my room mates)
     
  3. SolPWR

    SolPWR Senior Member

    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Location:
    MA
    that happened to me i just kept pressing the button over and over an over again until it cam back on. For the laptop try taking out the battery and then plug it into the wall boot by holding down the button shut down then put battery back in for charge. I hope this helps a little
     
  4. uconn1150

    uconn1150 Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    ...out in the desert of Texas
    Can you hear the CPU fan spinning? Did it burn out...had that happen to me when my water pump (yes, my computer is water cooled) died...I suggest you clear the BIOS...If you don't know what I'm talking about, then gently remove the "watch" battery on the motherboard wait a few minutes and reinstall the battery, then reboot...oh yeah, make sure you UNPLUG the computer from your power strip when you do this...

    Keep us posted!
     
  5. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    move the jumper on your mother board for your CMOS battery. J1 on most systems... should be 3 prongs... move it from | [] [] to [] [] | for example. consult your manual.
    power on.
    power off after you get nowhere (its supposed to do this)
    replace jumper to orig position

    hit f8 repeadetly
    enter computer in "last known good configuration"
    start/run/scanreg

    this makes a backup of the registry

    run virus scanners, adaware, etc if possible
    reboot normally.

    if it still doesn't work, post again
     
  6. djyox

    djyox Senior Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Twin Cities, Minnesota
    I got a shot gun, you buy the shells and I'll fix it for you!
     
  7. fastandfast

    fastandfast Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
  8. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002

    okay! i bet shot gun shells are cheaper than getting a computer fixed. ;) anyway, uhh sorry guys im TOTALLY computer deficent.. :huh: i have no idea what you guys are talking about :lol: .. and its a desktop.. anyway, imma print your suggestions and give it to a friend.. hes the one that built it for me and see how it goes.. and yeah it did smell really weird in my room.. like melted plastic or some crap.. oh yeah, does leaving your computer on too long fuck it up?? ive just gotten dsl not to long ago and have been leaving it on all day and all nite.. its not water cooler or anything, just got a regular fin..THANKS ALOT EVERYONE, i'll keep you guys posted and see wtf is wrong with it..
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    its fine. i leave mine on 24/7 too
     
  10. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    well we found the problem, it was my power supply.. can i fix it?? would it be hard?? anyway, i cant find one that fits my computer.. it suggestions on brand and where to get it?? its weird.. its the same size as my old one except it has an additional fan on top.. i took the little gaurd thing off and it still wouldnt fit.. hmmm
     
  11. uconn1150

    uconn1150 Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    ...out in the desert of Texas
    Nah, don't try to fix it...buy a cheap case that comes with a p/s, or buy/find a case that will accommodate both your mobo and p/s.
     
  12. La_Pieuvre

    La_Pieuvre Senior Member

    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX

    I would get Antec or Powermax. Don't cheap out when it comes to PSU. They are very important especially for Athlon systems. Having spent hundreds of $s on bad systems, I know that the power supply is often the culprit.
    Again, don't buy a crappy power supply or you'll probably end up with the same problem down the road. Get a 350-400 Watt PSU. They're not too expensive.
     
  13. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX

    :werd:

    Power quality is just as important for P4s too- really, it's important to have good clean power for any modern CPU.
     
  14. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i cant run anything less than 400w... my system doesnt boot otherwise. i have too many expansion slots full, too many drives, and 2 cpus!
     
  15. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    well i bought an Antec 400w system, problem is.. it fucking wont fit and my computer is getting hot assed..especially the area where the processor is mounted..this never happened.. all i have is the cpu fan.. if i get 2 more fans, which my friend suggested, would it cool it significantly??
     
  16. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    whats a good brand for a power supply anyway?? oh yeah THANKS A WHOLE LOT GUYS for all your help, suggestions, and mentoring.. : )
     
  17. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    never EVER open a power supply up to fix it. they cost like $40 for a decent one. and the shock you risk by openeing it up will have your doctor bills 100 times that.
     
  18. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    I play inside power supplies all the time, but that's crazy me doing weird ass shit.

    :lol:

    endlesszeal- Yes, more fans to move air around your case will definitely help you keep cool. If you don't move air through your case (fans for both intake AND exhaust), then you keep blowing the same hot air over your CPU, and that's a very bad thing.
     
  19. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    heres the update guys.. i kept the Antec PSU and made some "custom modifications" to make it fit into my case.. "bent alot of stuff" to make it fit hahaha.. and my computer is still getting hot, but i installed a fan and its much cooler.. about to install 2 more.. is that over doing it? like a power strip shouldnt be loaded with plugs, so does that go with my PSU too? anyway, thanks for all the help guys.. peace
     
  20. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Well, let's see... you really can't overdo it for cooling- computers are dumping more and more heat these days. I always try to have two good size (80mm or bigger) fans for air intake, and two more for exhaust. Balance out your air flow (intake = exhaust). Adding 5-6 fans won't stress your power supply anyway- they typically draw less than 2 watts each, and feed off the 12V line. Your CPU and hard drives run on the 5V, with the opticals and part of the hard drives running on the 12V. As long as you have a decent power supply, adding fans isn't a problem.

    So... always make sure the heat has some place to go. If you have a super hot CPU and a huge efficient heat sink on it, you'll still have problems if you can't feed it fresh cold air and push the hot air back out of the case.

    Analogy- the most powerful engine in the world can't do anything if it's breathing and farting through a 1 inch straw.

    Make sense?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page