Need help!! Noob here

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

b16goingbig

ok. I feel like a joke tryn to stand in the ring with yal. But here it goes. I have a 2000 si. it has a b16a2 in it. I have never done a swap. But I am looking into doing it this year. I have 7k to work with. Im looking @the k series. I wanna go big!! just motor power. no boost...yet. what would be the best route????

for 7k you can't, just for the swap alone, if you get it online it's about 6k without shipping. thats without mounts linkage or anything. either save up more money to do it or just put the money into the current car/engine. cams, head work, turbo kit, exhaust, fuel system, tune tune tune

its gonna cost you about 10k total to do a k swap
thats the figure most people end up spending by the time they are done

you could spend the money on a B20 block and lots of all motor goodies

i think a boosted B16 will get you about 300 hp for around 4k with all the components, managment and tuning.

yeah, screw the k swap.

for 7k, you can have a mean built b series. a lot more fun to drive.
but, if you are going to be making a powerful motor, remember you also need good tires for getting that power down and better brakes for stopping when you inevitably screw up and need to stop quickly and safely. and better suspension too.
a strong motor will be fun to go, but without everything else, its going to be a horrible drive with shitty handling.

get a turbo kit and lsd for your b16.

if you are new to hondas, this would be your best bet. too many people give crazy advice with how to spend a big budget. a $3000 kit and tune and a $900 lsd will give you a whole new car.

don't waste money on doing a full build blah blah blah....trust me, do the turbo kit and lsd and you will find that it is more than enough from a honda.