1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new to this

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by robdsherlock, Feb 1, 2010.

1. robdsherlock

robdsherlock New Member

hi!!
    im from ireland and i dont yet own a honda but my plan is to buy a jdm eg4 or eg6 civic hatch or coupe and drop a h22a into it. over here engine swaps are fairly common but mostly b18c and some b20 conversions. im new to the honda seen but know a few bits and peices but would still concider myself a beginner in this section. i am however very capable on working on cars, i currently rebuilt my engine in my type ra impreza and do all sorts of work on it. i have always loved honda's and there n/a engines that CAN rev and have reliability!! altho i have never owned one.
    basicly i am planning on getting as much info as posible b4 i go ahead and buy one and do a conversion. i understand it can be done and is a little harder than b18c (which is prob why there isin many done here) but want to find out what parts i would need from which car, also would there be much difference i handling after the conversion is done??

thanks,
    robert

2. DESPAIN

DESPAIN yep....mmhhm.......yep...

just get some motor mounts and a jdm h22. this swap has been done lots of times.

3. robdsherlock

robdsherlock New Member

thanks for the reply. would it be easier and better if i just buy a prelude and swap the parts over??

4. DESPAIN

imo..... you would like the performance alot better in a civic..... i have a 92 prelude with a jdm h22. i would rather have my set-up in a civic.

5. robdsherlock

robdsherlock New Member

sorry i din make that clearer, i ment buy a eg civic and buy a prelude and swap parts over, would i be saving money on trips to the scrap yard??

6. DESPAIN

just buy a full h22 swap. lsd tranny would be best.

7. vpower

vpower New Member