1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OMG I've installed Vista! (sort of)

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by GSRCRXsi, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    so for being a student you can get windows server 2008. which for those who know, is the same kernel as Vista SP1. free vista? it takes a little work.

    like i said you can now get Windows Server 2008 Standard free from Microsoft through their dreamspark program. from what i understand this is a fairly recent addition to the lineup of software thats available for download. so i figured what the hell. one little snag though, they only offer the 32-bit version. well i have 4 gigs and would clearly rather have the 64-bit. i did a little digging and people speculated that if 2008's activation was similar to vista, then i could download the free trial of 64-bit and just use my 32-bit key. but no one knew for sure, i could find anyone who actually did it. so i tried, and it worked :) but i had to add the key AFTER installation, not during.

    so it installs fine, and loads up, but it looks like windows 2000, very boring. i figured id make it more like vista, so i did more digging and found a site that outlined all the steps to transform it into a workstation. everything went smoothly, and i got everything up and running in a few hours.

    the next hurdle was Kaspersky Internet Security 2009. i got this free from work because i work at Geek Squad. apparently BB is having some partnership with Kaspersky and Trend Micro to offer exclusive software with 3yr licenses. but when trying to install it, it kept telling me that the OS wasnt supported. being that this is pretty much the same as vista, and that vista IS supported, i figured there shouldnt be any reason it shouldnt install, other than there OS checks in the installer. so i went back to google to see if there was any was around it. sure enough i found a way. i had to extract the .msi file from the installer, and edit out any lines of code that checked the OS. i did that with a program called orca. saved the new installer, then ran it. and bam, installed without a hitch.

    free stuff makes me happy. only thing that im working on now is finding the .exe files for my games. like ive installed crysis warhead, and it can run without the CD in the drive, but when i installed it, i did not get any shortcut to it, and serching for it doesnt find anything. apparently with vista it will put it in the games section, but with standard there is no games section. so the only way i can play is to put the disc in.

    heres some pics:

    desktop
    [​IMG]

    info windows incorrectly reports CPU freq.
    [​IMG]

    kasperky successfully installed
    [​IMG]
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. dacheat

    dacheat ..is grounded.

    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    strongbadia
    ok you win 'nerd of the day' :D
     
  3. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  4. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    COOL.. i was just thinking the same thing.. When did you get your key? I registered but i havent downloaded it yet. Is it after the download?

    You can download the trial version of x64 and the key works on that one too. I need to use it before my student status expires.
     
  5. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Hmm... I was hoping to do this too but since my school isn't listed it's a bunch of b.s. to go through to get "verified"
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2008
  6. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    what trial? MSDN script, baby.
     
  7. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    my school wasnt listed either, its really not that bad to go through the journey ed site. i put my ssn in instead of faxing my scheduel, it was faster.

    about the key, it gives you the option to generate your own key right before you download the ISO for the 32-bit version. just generate the key, write it down, then go get the 64 bit trial and use your key :) like i said though dont use the key during the install, do it after.
     
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
  9. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I went through the verification process and it was already done right now when I woke up. I guess I assumed that after emailing them my schedule it would take a while for them to do it. I got the 32 bit key now and am dl'ing the 64 bit trial from microsoft. The only thing that sucks is that for some reason sometimes when I dl large files through firefox, it will randomly just stop right in the middle and I have to restart the whole dl again. Hopefully this one finishes.
     
  10. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    yea that happened to me a couple times, just keep trying, it should come out to be like 2.5-2.6GB.

    and im not a traitor, im still dual booting linux :) i just need a windows OS to play games. i tried doing it in wine, but its way to much hassle for what its worth.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2008
  11. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    :withstupid: lol
     
  12. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    GSRCRXsi, what site did you use to help out in transforming it into Vista? The one TurboMirage posted up looks good, just wondering if you used something different.

    TurboMirage, did you use the automated tool to change it over or did you do it manually?
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2008
  13. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    i used that site and i used the automated tool
     
  14. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i made the changes manually the first time, then i installed it x64 and used the auto tool.



    do you ladies have time limits on how long you can use the OS?
     
  15. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    no, its the full version. no time limit. thats what i got the key for.
     
  16. Dustin_m

    Dustin_m Active Member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Mine is up and running. I used the automated tool. Now I just gotta go buy an ethernet cable since my wireless adapter won't seem to work. Vista recognizes it, but the shitty belkin wireless utility doesn't work for vista 64 i guess, so the adapter is set by default to use that utility to handle the wireless connection,a nd there's no way I can change it to let WIndows handle the wireless. Oh well, atleast its up and running nicely.

    Thanks for posting this up. I was about to use a pirate version of vista 64, this is a million times better.
     
  17. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ian.. you play day of defeat source... Any other games?
     
  18. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    More Ram!

    Bah, nevermind, I was looking at turbomirage's screenie. 4gb is decent.
     
  19. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    ive actually never played day of defeat. i just got it for free with CS:S. but i mostly play just CS:S and crysis
     
  20. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA

    its also just a slightly upgraded compaq 6710b. love the fucking thing.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page