1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help ID my b18. C1,c5,..??

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by Redwingf4i, Jul 20, 2017.

  1. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    First thread. I just bought a 93 del sol with a b20 block and b18 head. So of course im doing some maintenance on the motor. Do i order plugs, belts, etc.. just from a integra 1.8l DOHC vtec? Guessing1992-96 probably? I've done a little research and nothing to reassuring. Please Help! 20170716_112917.jpg 20170716_112924.jpg 20170716_112934.jpg
     
    dilbeckskate likes this.
  2. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,007
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    b18 gsr timing belt works fine , welcome to hondaswap man ! post up some pics of that ride
     
    Redwingf4i likes this.
  3. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    31,978
    Likes Received:
    5,782
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    you have a GSR head
    the IM looks like a 1st gen skunk2
    you should be able to order most parts for a 94-95 GSR and be fine
     
    Redwingf4i likes this.
  4. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,007
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    yes on 1st gen skunk 2
     
  5. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    I appreciate the help guys, I'll definitely be sticking around HondaSwap. First steps going to be getting this motor as healthy as possible. I'll keep everyone updated as much as I can. Besides I could really use the help.. *Since I'm new to forums. If I have more questions do i make a new post. (Is my ecu chipped) or reply with the new question in this post. (Help id my b18) i don't wanna annoy anyone. 20170723_102225.jpg 20170723_102240.jpg 20170723_102308.jpg
     
  6. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    31,978
    Likes Received:
    5,782
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    new thread vs add to current

    both work, its really up to you
     
  7. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,521
    Likes Received:
    199
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Take cover off ECU and take a picture of the entire ECU guts. We will be able to tell if it's chipped. What tune is on it? That's a harder question that I wouldn't know the answer to.
     
    Redwingf4i likes this.
  8. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Ok so I'm not sure how to "WORD" this but.. so my del sol b18 has no power steering. Which I'm ok with. But I'm getting a lot of over/under steer, I guess you can call it. Say I'm passing someone, I go into the left lane, steering goes to shit. Kinda over corrects a little bit. Then I pass the car, switch into the right lane and the steering wobbles again. At first i figured torquey car plus no p/s just gonna happen. But that cant be the case or no one would delete the p/s. I've ended up driving in a couple shoulders. Btw I'm a decent driver.. I don't think it's me. Any ideas. There no poping or any indication theres anything wrong. Please help.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017
  9. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    31,978
    Likes Received:
    5,782
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    removing the power steering will not cause that
    first thing i would suggest is to have your alignment checked
    it is most likely out of alignment and you probably have some bad parts in there somewhere (bushings, ball joints, tie rods, etc) causing the looseness in the front end

    even if your car seems to track rather straight the toe can still be off causing it to get "darty" when turning especially at speed

    or, though much less common, it is possible that your issue is in the steering rack or column

    either way an alignment shop should be able to let you know whats going on there
    or you could get under there yourself and take a look at everything and even align the car yourself using the string box method (it is intimidating but not overly difficult if you take your time and make sure you are precise with your measurements)
     
    Redwingf4i likes this.
  10. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Thanks bro. Ill get her in the air this afternoon and take a better look.
     
  11. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Ok so ball joints, sway bar, tie rods, everything I could get my hands on seemed decent, except my driver side coil over is missing a bolt up top. It's broke off. If you look above at my motor picture you can see it. Also I think the coil over might be busted, it doesn't feel any different than the passenger side or anything but with the wheels in the air I found this.

    Would the missing bolt in the upper mount of the coil over be causing my shitty steering problem. And whats up with my coil over is it busted?
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2017
  12. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,007
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    cheap coilover sleeves on stock shovks is your problem , and yes that spring movement is normal
     
    Redwingf4i likes this.
  13. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Thanks man that makes sense. I have another question. So every once in awhile I'll shift from 1st to 2nd or 2nd to 3rd in a higher Rpm. You know, just to feel a little power and hear that sexy vtec. But while doing so the car starts trying to die. Idle fluctuates and acts like it's out of gas. Is this a fuel cutoff from the stock p28 ecu I have? Think its happening around 7200rpm. And I've cleaned the iacv and changed fuel filter. cause thats what i initially thought it was. Please let me know if u have any ideas.
     
  14. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,007
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    start by pulling engine codes and go from there, sooo many things itn could be and a p28 isnt for a b18v unless its been remapped
     
  15. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Ok so your saying my ecu has obviously been remapped since it works. The only info I got from the guy I bought the car from said there was an issue with the ecu. Something about the redline being wrong? And also I've never messed with an obd1. I can use a scanner on obd2. And there's been a Wire tuck done. So I just need to Google what obd1 port looks like and search my car for it? And any way they mightve left it off for any reason? And will my obd2 scanner work? I know most of that sounds dumb.
     
  16. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,007
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    yes theres a honda obd1 diagnostic port or fan make the check engine light flash ecu codes
     
  17. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
  18. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    31,978
    Likes Received:
    5,782
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    get that ecu tuned for your car before you go romping around on it and grenade your engine
     
    dilbeckskate likes this.
  19. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    So to get my ecu tuned i have to take it to a dyno shop and get like a full on dyno tune?
     
  20. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    I'm not an ecu guy but, I think mine kinda looks like cap. There's bent "chip, connector, do-hickys" and a burn spot or two. Is this ok or do i need to buy a new p28. And if so will the tuner be able to find and install whatever chip mine has that makes it compatible with my b18. And for him to tune my ecu to my car like mentioned by E_solsi will I also need hondata, chrome..etc? 20170804_145444.jpg 20170804_145451.jpg 20170804_145458.jpg
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page