1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS3 Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by EGProject, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. EGProject

    EGProject YEEEEAAHHHHH

    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Whitinsville, Massachusetts
    Searched the interwebs for data on this, and while the installation looks straight forward I was wondering what everyone's take on buying a first-gen PS3 with a corrupt HD would be.

    Looking into buying a used PS3 mainly for playing Blue-rays and for my upcomming purchase of GT5. Don't mind spending some money, but a local friend offered me his first gen 60-gig with a bad hard drive for a really low price.

    Short of replacing the HD, any other issues I should be aware of? I don't want to commit to buying it, replacing the HD - and then have it not work. Chris has told me it takes a normal SATA HD, and online I've found that the software will automatically format it for PS3 usage. Short of that I have no experience with PS3's otherwise.

    Input would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. DESPAIN

    DESPAIN yep....mmhhm.......yep...

    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    flower mound TX
    It tells everything you n eed to know in the instruction book. If you dont have a paper copy just read the online one......... Should just be plug and play as far as i know and maybe some updates form intranets........
     
  3. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  4. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    It's a regular hard drive and the ps3 should format it for you. The only thing that gets me about it, is it still uses fat32 format. I would love to know how they got around the partition size issue. I have 2 friends with the 60 gig and they still work fine. The only one I know of to have issues is the 40 gig. The bluray drive is known to go on those.
     
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    its probably FAT32 EX
     
  6. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,018
    Likes Received:
    3,948
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    fat32 can support volume sizes up to about 8 terabytes
     
  7. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    wrongo...

    FAT32 max file size is 4GB, partition size 2TB

    max boot partition is 2GB
     
  8. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    Then why would the computer only let me partition a certain size ( don't remember the exact size but I think it was 30 gig) of my external drive so I could back up my ps3?
     
  9. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    Depends on your version of windows.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page