1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ready or Not, Here comes Windows XP SP2

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by CRX-YEM, Feb 21, 2005.

  1. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT


    Link To Slashdot

    Link To Full Info

    Well look like I'm going to be forced to use SP2, so what's the consensus regarding SP2 is it ok, bad, sucks, not going to give me a headache etc???
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    No problems with most applications- just turn off the built-in firewall and you'll be ok. The applications which generally have issues are the more professional level programs- a few high level CAD packages or anything else that might need a lower level access to system or network resources than your typical office program that mostly ties into things through the OS.
     
  3. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    the online program that we use for our physics class homework recomends not using SP2 because they get so many errors with them. Either they are going to have to fix it or I will actually have to go to our outdate SunSystems Unix labs
     
  4. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Well...I'm already running SP2 and I can say it sucks ass. Its not very stable and there arn't really any advantages to it!
     
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    im still running build 2600. :-D
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :shrug:

    No problems here.
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    xp sp2 has been out for months... why the big deal now?

    anyway, i have it at home, and i have no problems with it.
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    No problems at all.
     
  9. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX


    Because now M$ is lifting the restrictions that kept it from being installed on a bunch of different corporate systems. Back when SP2 was released, some companies tested it and made a deal with M$ to not "release" SP2 to certain machines. Now that the self-imposed ban has been lifted, all these machines are going to start installing SP2 on their own- and if they don't, they'll just keep bugging the owners with prompts until they do. It's not a good situation if a company with 1000+ computers needs more time to get everything to jive with SP2.
     
  10. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    or for people like me who don't trust M$ and haven't installed it yet
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Well, it does work ok for me.
     
  12. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    just installed it last night.. like cal said.. turn off the built in firewall.. then you're all good
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page