turbo teck

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

hybrid_b18

crew chief
Yo people i need some help. I am planning to run tdO5 turbo from a volvo 740. i believe its a 16g. but i am an experienced exhaust welder but am not sure if i can build my own manifold. if theres anyone out there how welds manis, be my bug brother and guide me through this sh!t. i can put up some pics later today or so but...one more thing. i heard its better to run your BOV closer to the throttle body. but i always see racers run them closer to the turbo, and what about the german turbos( VWand VOLVO) with the BOV right on the turbo?? i need some clarity.

Thanks for any help

from what i've read, it's more effective to run the bov as close the the turbo as possibe because there is greater compression there, but i dont' know. kind of seems like it would be better to place it right next to the throttle body so the pressure would releive immediately. if i read anything that sounds like they know what wtf they're talking about, i'll post it. wish i could be of more help.

Originally posted by hybrid_b18@Sep 24 2003, 03:24 PM
Yo people i need some help. I am planning to run tdO5 turbo from a volvo 740. i believe its a 16g. but i am an experienced exhaust welder but am not sure if i can build my own manifold. if theres anyone out there how welds manis, be my bug brother and guide me through this sh!t. i can put up some pics later today or so but...one more thing. i heard its better to run your BOV closer to the throttle body. but i always see racers run them closer to the turbo, and what about the german turbos( VWand VOLVO) with the BOV right on the turbo?? i need some clarity.

Thanks for any help