1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

useing a stock CRX radiator for a swap?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by LSCRX, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. LSCRX

    LSCRX New Member

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    I have a stock 1988 CRX DX and am going to be swaping a 1997 b18b LS motor in very soon. My radiator is shot and need one in ASAP so i can smog it before the swap. I have been told to use a 92-95 civic radiator but it requires some fabricating. Is there a reason for this, or can i just use a stock CRX radiator for the swap? Is it too small or something? Also I am not very mechanically enclined, but how hard is it to swap out a radiator? i found some ok instructions from autozone.com on how to do it, but want a second opinion. Thanks for your help :D
     
  2. jason22ga

    jason22ga jason91si

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    griffin,ga
    your stock radiator will work fine i just did a b16a swap in my 91 si and im using my stock radiator and is working fine
     
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    its not hard to swap a radiator, but the stock one will work perfectly fine
     
  4. LSCRX

    LSCRX New Member

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Thanks for the info guys. I am going to attempt to swap out my first radiator :confused:
     
  5. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    its easy...
    drain coolant
    remove hoses from radiator
    unbolt the bracket holding the radiator on top and thats about it..
     
  6. LSCRX

    LSCRX New Member

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    I think you forgot about the fan.....isnt that attached as well? Also according to autozone </title></head>"); newWindow.document.writeln("<body><div align='center'><img " + getWidth("yes") + "src='/images/cds/" + tpe + "/" + sze + "/" + pc + "." + tpe + "'></img></div>"); newWindow.document.writeln("<div align='center'><table><tr><td><FORM

    you need to "disconect and plug the automatic transaxle cooling lines at the radiator, if equipped." I have no idea what that is and it doesnt show me what it is on the diagram. I am going to attempt it either way, but will let you guys know how it goes.
    later
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    duh, forgot all about the fan.. but thats common sense right there.. if super easy to change a radiator.. you'll see what you need to do along the way
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page