1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vtec eliminator help

Discussion in 'Prelude' started by dmills30ny, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. dmills30ny

    dmills30ny New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    i just bought 98 prelude with h22a4 to race in our local 4cyl stock class, problem is the track is a 1/4 dirt oval and the rules say no vtec, so is there anyway i could lock it up in vtec mode all the time with a controller or do those vtec locking rockers work? i know its kinda bending the rules but hey thats whats racing is all about.
     
  2. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    chip the ecu..run a stock map and set vtec to engage at 9k rpm...
    or just disconnect the wire for it/...
    why cant you run vtec if its stock in that car?
     
  3. dmills30ny

    dmills30ny New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    rules say no vtec or ztec or crap like that, screw it took valve cover off last night little grinding and new paint and now no more vtec logo on valve cover, im gonna run it till tech guys catch me
     
  4. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    ^there ya go..as long as there not too tech smart then you should be fine..and if they do catch just unhook it and ask them how it can work when its unplugged
     
  5. dmills30ny

    dmills30ny New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    could i run a toggle switch to the vtec solenoid and engage it myself that way to keep it locked in?
     
  6. Bobby17772

    Bobby17772 New Member

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Enfield, CT
    yeah, a lot of people do it, all you really do is just cut the 12v wire get a toggle switch and run the wires to that, so when you flick the switch it gives it the power it needs to turn on
     
  7. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Or just connect it through a fuse to a 12V switched line so it's always on when the car is on...
     
  8. dmills30ny

    dmills30ny New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    thank you guys for the info, gonna wire it up tomorrow and put the coilovers on,,,, i feel sorry for those neons and probes this year,,, wooohhahahahahahah;)
     
  9. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Just keep the revs above the normal VTEC crossover point and you'll do great. :)
     
  10. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
    how about tuning it with vtec locked in?
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Same thing? Just power up the solenoid?
     
  12. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    question I would have tho is I beleive it is bad for the motor to be in VTEC all the time is it not? or is it just bad for ya wallet and all the MPG ya are lossing
     
  13. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Read the first post... he's racing it, not daily driving it. And no, it's not bad to be in VTEC all the time if you're going to drive it in the VTEC power band all the time.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page