Building Up D16z6

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

blm143

I have a '94 civic ex coupe 1.6l vtec sohc 5spd d16z6 motor and want to build up my stock engine. i do not want to do an engine swap. can anyone help in what should be done like headers???exhaust??cams??what should i change in the stock engine???what other addons???like turbo kit???etc.....any help would be greatly appreciated...i am new to the scene.. have read alot of doing swaps but i just want to build up my stock engine...the engine has 139k....thanx for the help all

lets say before i do put in a turbo kit is there anything i should do to the engine itself first???considering it has 139k on it....

Basicly you dont have to do much if you only run a little bit of boost. The major problem your going to have is having you tranny granadeing on you every once in a while.

:werd: Ya S20 transmissions suck, im on my second one and ive only had the car for a little under a year and its not like im tearing around, grinding the shit out of it either.

so you mean the tranny i have in there now sucks????is there a tranny i can change that wont suck to fit my engine???or what would i have to do so that it doesnt grind away and shit my tranny out??

Fraid not man, the S20 tranny is the only one that fits our engines. But in ll honesty they are not really that bad. True they are weaker then the B series trannies but hey, they're better then GM trannys ( IMO ). A friend of mine just got a cavalier ( much to my disaproval ) and the things tranny tore itslef to bits in a metter of a few hundred Kms :lol: and now hes gonna pay almost as much as he got the car for the repair the dam thing. I told him.. " shoulda got a Honda "