ECU wiring hack job

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Evanippolito

Hey guys I'm new here so if I posted this wrong let me know.. I recently acquired a 91 civic EF with a b20z block and b16a head. Previous owner "custom wired" an OBD0 to OBDI conversion harness and installed a chipped p28 but things got crazy. Long story short, the car won't start. I have very little experience with anything that doesn't have a carburetor.. Can anybody make heads or tails of what I'm looking at/ tell me where to start? It looks like there are two OBDI harnesses so I tried to diagnose which plugs were which. So far all I can figure out is that no matter which combination of plugs I use, I have fuel pressure. The starter seems to only crank when it wants to, regardless of if the car is being jumped or not.

Attachments

• DSC_0114.JPG
    DSC_0114.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 678
  • DSC_0115.JPG
    DSC_0115.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 411
  • DSC_0116.JPG
    DSC_0116.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 461
  • DSC_0117.JPG
    DSC_0117.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 530
  • DSC_0118.JPG
    DSC_0118.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 427
  • DSC_0119.JPG
    DSC_0119.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 472
  • DSC_0120.JPG
    DSC_0120.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 447
  • DSC_0122.JPG
    DSC_0122.JPG
    966.1 KB · Views: 626
Previous owner had the yellow harness plugged into the ECU. Also, car is constantly throwing a solid CEL and oil light. pulled the ECU board out and it looks fine to me. I don't know what a fried one should look like. There is a slight black mark on RP18 but that's it. Would this mean it needs a new chip?

Do you know for certain if the car is a LS/Vtec?

Also check your ignition wires its a common Honda thing to have a different ignition or walmart security system that someone's cousin likely named "Bubba" wired in with a pair of wire strippers and electrical tape

Try and get another P28 just to confirm the ECU is not the issue