Got my first wanna-be phone phreak call today

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

DarkHand

VIP
I've been working at MCI for about 2 1/2 years now at the reception desk of the business wholesale office. We don't interact with the public that often, just business customers. I recently was promoted, so I'll be leaving the front desk sometime next month. I was beginning to get upset that I never once had anyone try to social engineer me (to my knowledge anyway), or try anything shady. Till today! :mrgreen: I got a call about an hour ago from a younger-sounding man with a british accent. A rough transcript follows:

-----------------------

Me: Good morning MCI, how can I help you?
Him: Good morning, my name is Mark with MCI, and I'm doing some testing on some lines today. Can I have the switchboard please?

We regularly have real testers call in, so I didn't think anything of it.

Me: Actually this is the switchboard here in Downers Grove, how can I help you?
Him: Ah good, I'm in Down Grove too. Can you connect me to extension 9000?

All of our extensions are in the 5000-6000 range, and this is certainly not 'Down Grove'.

Me: Hmm, that's not an extension here, who are you trying to reach? I can look the extension up for you.
Him: We're just doing some PBX testing, circuits and all that? Can you connect me to extension 9000 please?

None of our testers would talk like that, so now I'm suspicious.

Me: Where did you say you were testing from?
Him: Um, Down Grove.
Me: I see.

Now I just make something up:

Me: Ok, hang on one sec, let me set you up for testing. 9000 you said?
Him: Yes.
Me: Ok sure. And you've tested the TCOMS level already?
Him: Yes.

A real tester would have screamed at me for not knowing what I was talking about. Now I knew he was fake.