z6 swap to a 90 civic si

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Chavezcraz

got bseries?
Ok. I'm not 100% new to the game but i'm new to doing it with no supervision. My last 91 si got a b18 slapped in it. I remember beating the firewall in and a few things with the wiring harness and such. But my main reason for posting here is in regards to a d16z6 swap.

See how i'm now earning the main income for the house i'm trying to keep this within range of "my" free money. : ) So i found a 90 si hatch already lowered and with a invidia exhaust, it is primered and a super clean interior. Immediately wanted the car...

IMG00618.jpg

Gave 350 for it and he even threw in a p28 ecu with a d16z6 wiring harness converter(150 dollar value here in south west ohio). Now this sparked my interested in the Z6 conversion. I found a Z6 full drop out from a 94 civic ex, the engine has a knock but was still drivable to his home when the knock started, so he didn't have full engine failure. He told me 250 bucks for the full dropout including all mounts, head, intake, block, tranny,dizzy, flywheel clutch, wiring harness, motor mounts all that good stuff. So for 250 for everything i figured i'd take a risk and see if i can simply find the issue and correct without buying a rebuild kit. So i've read a million posts and seen a million pics. I guess i'm just looking for specific answers to my questions. Here we go.

1.) With the p28 ecu and wire harness conversion kit will i need to change any wiring inside the car? Or will the conversion kit take care of all that? I ask because the kit he gave me with the ECU have a few wires hanging off of it coming out of each wiring juncton on the ecu.
S4021157.jpg