1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B18c swap tips

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by boostpyro90, Dec 11, 2010.

  1. boostpyro90

    boostpyro90 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Hellooooo honda swap, im new to the site and thought id start with a new thread. I just recently sold my DC w/itr front end and itr motor (still regret it) haha Now im on to a new project. I picked up a mint 1990 integra awhile ago and miss my old itr's rpm range. Im looking into swapping a obd1 B18c in the spring time and am going to start piecing together my swap now.

    I've read so many threads on similar swaps (including the gen2 swap article here) and just wanted a clearer view on the swap. (This means im going to sound like a noob) I will be buying only the motor, ecu, mani, distributor, ect. and using my ls tranny (until I could buy a gsr tranny) to keep the swap even simpler.

    I would just like some extra info on what I can't find info on. I know its a bolt in and i can use the stock mounts. But with an obd0 car and an obd1 gsr engine, how would i make it work... meaning what harness to use, what ecu, and will i need a obd conversion? and how does it all hook up? (in which order)

    Just looking for a better understanding and picture in my head. Thanks a-much
     
  2. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    You "can" convert and mate the two engine harness together with a lot of research and soldering but you can get something from Rywire and simply plug it up but its not that cheap. You will have to run wire from the VTEC solenoid but they make a jumper harness (for the OBD1 ECU in a OBD0 car) that has wires ran off it so you simply run them through the firewall and hook up to the wires off the jumper harness. Thats all I can think of right now but maybe someone else can add to it.
     
  3. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    just use the b181a bottom end and do a ls/vtec, pretty much same power as gsr and alot cheaper
     
  4. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    That is a whole different ball of wax....he needs help getting an OBD1 motor in his OBD0 Car......period. And Frankensteins are not the BEST option....they are tempermental and I would never tell someone to do one if they are a novice and/or its a daily driver.
     
  5. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    understood, i personally like the challenge, and the d16a1 is obd0 bro, the dohc out of the 1st gen teggies
     
  6. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    What are you referring to? He has a 90 Integra which has the B18A1 DOHC Its not a first gen
     
  7. boostpyro90

    boostpyro90 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Im sure he meant the 1st gen of the DA generation. Haha

    I considered ls/v however I wanted missed my rpm range of my old gsr. Sure I could build the bottom to handle 8500+ rpm however by the time I get a good head, the the lsvtec conversion, pistons, ecu crap, etc. to make the ls bottom capable of reving, on top of the machine labor id be in a good $1500 on the low end... why not spend a few more hundred and get a gsr engine ready to go? Not to mention paying a few more hundred for the reliability factor!! Too many what ifs with the ls/v i don't care who builds it!
     
  8. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Get the Rywire Harness......its pricey but safe, new and you wont have any issues. Plug and play after that.
     
  9. boostpyro90

    boostpyro90 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    There's another guy telling me to stay obd0 and just get a vtec conversion harness, and a pr3 ecu, he said likes the vtec crossover and the base maps better than the p72. Would this be a good idea? I just don't see how it would work with an obd1 engine... I would think it would have to be converted to obd1 for it to run properly.
     
  10. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    I forgot to mention Knock Sensor and IAB's from the GSR motor. You LS doesn't have these on the harness. So you would need the plugs off the GSR swap (JDM???)
    How I would do it OBD0:

    OBD0 Alternator from a B16A OBD0
    OBD0 Dizzy from B16A too
    PR3 OBD0 ECU (with IAB's deleted)

    This way, your current harness should plug right up (except the VTEC like you said). But you would have to tap into your plug that connects to the ECU so the VTEC was hooked up. This means you would have to junkyard shop for some pins out of a donor car (at the plug that connects into ECU) and you would need to solder the VTEC lines, IAB's and Knock Sensor to the donor pins (with 3-4 inches of wire off the donor pins). ffsquad.com has a small write up with pics to show you how to do this. I did it on my swap for the knock sensor. It is "probably" a little cheaper than getting a harness from Rywire but it takes more knoweldge, time, and skill (soldering....pulling pins and installing pins).

    But if you run it all OBD1....P72 ECU get the engine harness and jumper harness. Run through firewall and solder VTEC, Knock and IAB lines (you tell Rywire you need these) to the ones hanging off the jumper harness and it should be a straight forward engine replacement after that.
    I am not sure on the injectors but they might be the same.

    There are tons of other options and opinions. You can run OBD1 chipped/socketed ECU and delete the Knock and IAB's. But if you want to run a Virgin ECU....you need to hook all these sensors up.....and if you go OBD0....a PR3 ECU doesn't loko for IAB's so you would need to work around that too (thread on how to are all around).

    OBD1 is much easier to modify, chip, and tune if you ever wanted to go that extra step
     
  11. boostpyro90

    boostpyro90 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    That's all goood stuff. So to make it sound even easier -

    1.I get the obd1 conversion with vtec conversion, cut the vtec plugs off the gsr harness and solder them onto the vtec conversion wires?

    2. I have to request the knock sensor, and iab sensor be added to the obd conversion from rywire, it doesn't come on there already?

    Also im pretty sure obd0/1 injectors are the same function just different harnesses. There's no benefit from converting from what I hear...
     
  12. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    In terms of the injectors and everything else.....if you get a Rywire harness....tell them you want all OBD1 sensors (i.e. knock, injectors, O2 and everything ready to go). They will make everything off the motor good to go!

    In terms of the jumper harness you need for the ECU....look into it but I am know there's one out there that has the VTEC lines ready to hook up but you need to look into the Knock sensor and IAB's that are lead off the jumper harness.
     
  13. 93tigger

    93tigger New Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Location:
    Cali
    Good luck with the swap man, I just did mine a couple of months ago, it was alot of work, but well worth it. Need any help pm me.
     
  14. FlyBMXer4130

    FlyBMXer4130 Sh1tAssIntegras

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans "little mexico"
    I'm about to start my same swap this weekend, looking up last minute tips.

    Got a complete '94 GSR to pull everything from, going in my '91 DA.

    I'll check back in for progress and post what I get going.
     
  15. salvadorrivasgomez

    salvadorrivasgomez New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    ok so i read all the post and ima make it clear for this poor kid and who ever decides too do OBD1 engines on OBD0 chasis.

    1. u need a obd0_obd1 jumper harness. i got mine from jdmcarboy.com 99$ comes with instructions. and a pigtail for ur KS AIB Vtec and Vtec pressure switch.

    2. u use the stock mounts all four including driver side block mount cuz we all knw driver side mounts are 2 pieces.

    3. you use the stock DA 90-91 harness just like u was puting a stock b18a1 back in. just find some obd1 injector clips or u can even use obd_0 injectors.

    ok knw with everything in ur garage/hands. you do this


    1. get ur p72 ecu and obd0_obd1 jumperharness with its pigtail of wires, plug the jumper harness too ur chasis harness, plug in the p72 ecu to the jumper run the pig tail too thru the fire wall of engine bay put everything in the passenger side cover up and ur done with the inside. simple!!! :)

    2. Drop ur b18c1 into ur DA chasis. conect the obd0 harness too ur b18c1 engine. cut and splice the obd1 injector clips. if ur using obd0 injectors then ur done with that. Simple!!! :)

    3. run the pig tail to the sensors. wich are KS knock sencor, AIB Air Intake BypassValve, Vtec and Vtec presure switch. for this step u will need the directions that came with the jumper harness it should be easy! and for the Dizzy u can use the obd1 dizzy. wat i did is unpin the Dizzy Clips on my obd0 harness and got some obd1 plugs and pin them so it looks clean. or can buy a jumper for that aswell. or u can use the obd0 dizzy but u gona have too cut on of the legs so it would fit.

    4. after ur done with ur engine wiring is done step back and zip ur Corona Extra :) lol. feels good dosent it LOL!...

    5. after ur break is over. find a gsr throtle body cable cuz ur ls just wont fit! to change it juss twisted from fire wall then go inside and follow the gas peddal up and unhook it and replace it with the gsr TBC.

    6. Put oils, fluid. pray ur engine is good double check everything. and crank it up!!!!!! hope this help bro. if u got Questions hit me up ill be more than happy too help u. these same steps can be use for 88-91 civic and CRX



    ps. u may have CEL code 20 for electrical over load commen wen doin obd0_obd1 swaps if u run to it. hit me up i got the remedy for it lol.
     
  16. salvadorrivasgomez

    salvadorrivasgomez New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    dam i totaly for got about O2 sensor. wich instructions will be on jumperharness manuel. no biggy my bad i for got too put it in my post lol
     
  17. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Alternators are the same plug??????
     
  18. boostpyro90

    boostpyro90 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Wow, thanks for that info, that's good stuff. Im sure I could figure it out once I have everything but I like when things are elementary. Haha

    I was thinking the the alernators were fine as far as wiring?

    And you might as well post the remedy for the cel too Salvador. Haha
     
  19. boostpyro90

    boostpyro90 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Also, I was doing some work on my car earlier, and was planning the swap. Basically with the information provided above, everything seems to be figured out. However, while looking at my motor and how the gsr will fit, I noticed all the friggin vacuum lines EVERYWHERE! Would I just be able to remove these since there wont be any sensors or electronics looking for them on the gsr motor? There's literally vacuum lines everywhere on these motors. Advice?
     
  20. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Vacuum lines are needed in a GSR too. Not a ton. Take some pics and we can probably help. I know you need them for brakes and two off the charcoal canister (one to TB and other to Evap Purge) EGR valve, and maybe a few more but I can't think of them right now.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page