1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coupe DX build

Discussion in 'Auto Multi-Media' started by civic94cpe23, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Well first off not sure if this is in right location because I don't have any pics "yet". Anyway I have a 94 Civic Dx Coupe with 174k D15B7 that ive owned for 2 years.As of right now I am searching for a D16Z6 motor to swap into it.

    Ive always been big on V8's and 4x4in and after selling both my 4x4 trucks I started looking into the Honda scene. Right away I got addicted and honestly I must say I have been a forum junkie from the start... Ive been spending hours on here searching and reading other peoples build threads. Ok now on to the build!!:D

    Plans/Goals.

    *Swap in d16z6
    *Headers
    *Swap cluster for one with a tach
    *New tires
    *Paint Job
    *New Clutch
    *New Windshield
    *New front Brake Rotors(
    *Intake System
    *New Suspension

    So far thats what I got... This list will change as other things get done and I come up with other things to add to it. So please stick around and give me some advice. I am also looking for advice on what and which brand of parts to get.

    Oh and I wanna give huge shots out to "K2e2vin" for the advice and pretty much answering every question I had so far.

    Thanks for lookin
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :wave:
     
  3. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Just a little update... I just bought a motor and will be picking it up tuesday. Its a D16Z6 out of a wrecked HB.
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
  5. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Lol it was really odd. A person contacted me late like 2 AM. Happen to live a few blocks down and I was still awake and he invited me to come take a look so I checked it in his shop. Ran it for a good 20 minutes checked a few things and decided.
     
  6. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,482
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    looking forward to pics
    sounds like youre off to a good start
     
  7. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Ok a little update... Got the motor unloaded and put in the garage. Getting ready to remove the AC compressor and the PS pump. Then i'll clean the motor up.


    Heres a photo of the DX motor its going to be ripped out next week and replaced with the D16Z6. Sorry about the pics they arent very good. Yes I know its dirty in there
    .
    [​IMG]

    Now heres a pic of the DX!!

    [​IMG]
     
  8. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Ok another things I was wondering. Ive done alot of reading and I am hoping the swap will go well. I will be using a friends shop and they have no internet there. So I was thinking I could print a few threads out and take them with me so I can refer back to them if needed. I have already bookmarked a few .

    so what are some of the common problems people run into while doing the swap?

    Thanks
     
  9. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Going from a non-vtec to vtec, you will have to add wiring for the vtec system unless you can get the engine harness with the engine. Also (no-brainer I know) but make sure you get the ECU as well.

    Also, if you want a tach, the gauge cluster from the D16 car will drop into your car with no problem, only issue is then you will have incorrect mileage (if you live in an area with inspections this could be a problem). This is my preferred way to gain a tach, cause then you have a factory solution that displays the correct redline for your engine.

    Are you getting the transmission with the engine? If it's an Si transmission they have lower gears than the DX transmission, but the DX trans will work fine if you prefer it.

    Also, how badly wrecked was the Si? If the rear suspension/brakes are intact you should try to pick them up for a rear disc swap, if they are good and the guy will let the parts go cheap it's a great upgrade.
     
  10. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    I didn't get the transmission but I do have a buddy who would make a deal with me for a SI tranny. I got the complete motor and harness.. I am still looking for a ECU. Correct me if I am wrong but I thought I had to run wires from the vtec to the ECU even with the engine harness?? I did not get a flywheel so will mine swap to the d16 easy?

    Will be looking into the rear brake swap.

    Thanks
     
  11. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    I believe if you use the engine harness from the Z6, you shouldn't have to do any rewiring. Not 100% certain on that, though, but most people just use the harness they have and add wiring as needed.
     
  12. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    If thats true then it would be great. Thanks again.
     
  13. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    I am still not 100% sure if my car has the vtec wiring already.. Ive seen a few people say the only year they did this was in 92.

    Anyway I was checking out rywire.com and they have a harness with clips that would do the trick. Are they worth it or is it better to wire it yourself?
     
  14. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,482
    Likes Received:
    389
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    if you want to save yourself a lot of headache then yes the rywire harnesses would be perfect

    also, the car is a DX, its not wired for vtec from the factory
     
  15. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    If the car is a 92 civic, its already pre-wired. If not, you WILL have to manually add them. Search our reference forums for a walk though, its been posted 1236217 times.
     
  16. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    yea ive already seen it thanks. Just wanted to make sure before... Just gonna get the rywire harness and call it good.
     
  17. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    either way, if you get the rywire harness, there is no PHYSICAL wire going through the shock tower for the harness to get signal from, so you'll still have to manually wire it up.

    + I didn't see it was a 94 before, sorry
     
  18. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    yeah so i'd just have to wire the end of the rywire harness into the ECU right?
     
  19. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    So we had a few hours to work on the car. We did not manage to get the old motor out. I got the axles droped,and all the wiring/hoses disconnected and the compressor.

    I am having a problem disconnecting the shift linkage. There is 2 pins and I am not sure which one comes out??? Ive tried using a punch on both of them and having a hard time.

    here is a pic could any one tell me which pin to hammer out or how to get the out/which side to punch?

    In the photo there is a couple of arrows might have to zoom in.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. civic94cpe23

    civic94cpe23 New Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    I think I was doing it wrong. I was banging(lol) on the 2 pins that are shown in the pic. I think I am supose to slide the rubber boot back and there is a pin in there some where?

    EDIT: Pretty sure I figured it out thanks to this site and a few people from this site. http://www.performanceforum.com/wesvann/honda/bitch/bitch.html


    thanks i'll throw some more pics up tomorrow after I get the motor remove and the new one put in.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2010
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page