Heal and toe shifting

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

I tought id open a thread about heal and toe shiftng. i do it almost on a daily basis(i am a very sprrited driver) and found a remarkable amount of control was added to the car.
i think the controls on the 95 accord are set up perfect for it.
im switching to a 1990 and hope the pedels are just as good.
are you guys shifting like this also?

i do it when i touge. i only do it in my 240 though. but there is a purpose. i drive with the purpose of getting where i want during the day, but heel/toe is a waste. plus my legs don't bend how i want them to in my cramped little hatch.

I don't know how 'a remarkable amount of control was added to the car' but I'm glad you enjoy it.

LOL @ touge.

Heel toe (or rev matching more accurately) isn't one of the more important skills required in motorsports. Modulating the brake under maximum (threshold) braking while bliping the throttle is a bit more difficult. I usually just left foot brake and downshift without the clutch, way easier than dicking around with heel-toe. *shrug*

if you have the racing ability to down shift under braking without the clutch, i shall bow to you. i can definitely down shift without the clutch, thats no the issue i have with your statement. Retaining speed through a corner during a clutchless shift is damn difficult, and even if you do pull it off (which i have no problem believing) the power is gonna be there when you dont need it or your transmission will be slowing you down into the corner as well.

I understand what you mean, but heel toe to keep the revs up just seems like a much simpler and more effective way to get corner entry and exit speeds. but what do i know.

I don't understand what you are trying to say.